15th EDITION OF THE PRIX VIDERE, WHO ARE THE 2007 FINALISTS?

15th EDITION OF THE PRIX VIDERE, WHO ARE THE 2007 FINALISTS?

15th EDITION OF THE PRIX VIDERE, WHO ARE THE 2007 FINALISTS?

Québec City, November 13, 2007 – On November 26, 2007, for a 15th consecutive year, the Prix Videre will underscore the work of visual artists from the “vieille capitale’ at the awards ceremony of the Prix d’excellence des arts et de la culture. Which artists from among Québec City’s cultural community will be honoured with the Videre événement prize, the Reconnaissance prize and the new Videre Relève prize?

Organized by Manifestation international de Québec, the Prix Videre are annually attributed by a peer jury who visited exhibitions shown in the region during the previous year (September to August). They underscore the creative talent of Québec City artists and support them in their career. The prizes are made possible with the support of Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec, the Caisse d’économie solidaire Desjardins de Québec and the Faculté d’aménagement, d’architecture et des arts visuels of Université Laval.

For the Videre événement prize, given to an artist whose recent production received special attention in arts programming in the Québec City region over the previous year, the following artists are nominated:

Cooke-Sasseville

For their participation in the event Les Convertibles, shown in the context of the 10th anniversary of the Journées de la culture. The duo associated the theme of death with the game of bowling, proposing metaphors that incorporated technical vocabulary and the anthropomorphous facet of bowling pins.

Paryse Martin

For her installation Manœuvres exquises presented at the Galerie des arts visuels in February, 2007. The installation comprised a community of objects in which the figurative and the abstract rubbed shoulders, tangled in an endless muddle of the real and the mythological. The result was a staging of the fantastic that evoked an obscure tragedy amplified by a symbolism of sensuality.

Hélène Matte

For her multidisciplinary show Voyage-Voyage, created in the context of a production residency at Recto- Verso and presented May 12 and 13, 2007 at the Essai studio of the Méduse cooperative. The artist used this complex, intimist presentation that incorporated drawing, poetry, storytelling to critically review social mores in touchingly poetic terms.

For the Videre Relève prize, which underscores the recent production of an emerging artist whose work has garnered special attention in the Québec City region, the finalists are:

Thierry Arcand-Bossé

For his exhibition at the Galerie Lacerte in February 2007, comprising recent work coloured by the ardour that consistently characterizes the artist’s production. A reflection on oppressive urgency and political lies relayed through the use of popular and technical imagery.

Christian Messier

For his performance at Putain de bal masqué pervers, organized by Folie/Culture during the event DSM-V+ in October 2006. The performance was a strong, sensitive experience that oscillated between extreme gestuality and the fragility of the body.

Mathieu Valade

For his intervention Les belles balles, presented in collaboration with L’Œil de Poisson in a field on a country road in St-Casimir, Québec. Renewed forms scattered throughout the field disrupted a part of the St-Casimir countryside. The project was a part of a four-part series entitled Géometrie rural, in which the artist works to with reroute our usual perceptions of the countryside.

As the Videre Reconnaissance prize is attributed to an artist has distinguished his or her work through continued excellence, originality and quality, the winner will be revealed on the night of the awards ceremony without been previous nomination.

– 30 –

Information: Lysandre Bouchard / Communications agent Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec

T: 418-524-1917 /

15e édition des prix Videre, qui sont les finalistes 2007 ?

15e édition des prix Videre, qui sont les finalistes 2007 ?

15e édition des prix Videre, qui sont les finalistes 2007 ?

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Québec, le 13 novembre 2007 – Pour une 15e année consécutive, les Prix Videre souligneront le travail d’artistes en arts visuels de la vieille capitale lors de leur remise à la soirée des Prix d’excellence des arts et de la culture le 26 novembre prochain. Parmi la communauté culturelle de Québec, quels artistes se mériteront les distinctions que sont les Prix Videre événement, Reconnaissance et le nouveau Prix Relève?

Orchestrés par Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec, les Prix Videre sont annuellement attribués par un jury de pairs ayant visité les expositions réalisées dans la région au cours de l’année (septembre à août). Ces prix reconnaissent le talent créatif des artistes de Québec et les appuient dans le cheminement de leur carrière. Leur remise est rendue possible grâce au soutien de Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec, de la Caisse d’économie solidaire Desjardins de Québec et de la Faculté d’aménagement, d’architecture et des arts visuels de l’Université Laval.

Pour le Prix Videre événement qui souligne une récente production s’étant démarquée de l’ensemble de la programmation artistique de la région de Québec, les artistes suivant ont été mis en nomination:

Cooke-Sasseville

Pour leur participation à l’événement Les Convertibles, projet spécial du 10e anniversaire des Journées de la culture. Le duo y a associé le thème délicat de la mort avec le jeu de quilles, en proposant des métaphores où se mélangent le vocabulaire technique et l’aspect anthropomorphique de la quille.

Paryse Martin

Pour son installation Manœuvres exquises présentée à la Galerie des arts visuels en février 2007. Cette installation était présentée comme une communauté d’objets où le figuratif côtoyait l’abstrait, emmêlé dans un infini embrouillement du réel et du mythologique. Il en découlait une mise en scène du fantastique, évoquant une tragédie obscure amplifiée d’un symbolisme sensualiste.

Hélène Matte

Pour son spectacle multidisciplinaire Voyage-Voyage réalisé dans le cadre d’une résidence chez les productions Recto-Verso et présenté les 12 et 13 mai 2007 au Studio d’essai de la coopérative Méduse. Il relève d’une présentation complexe au caractère intimiste alliant le dessin, la poésie, l’art de raconter et où l’artiste pose un regard critique sur nos mœurs dans une poésie touchante.

Pour le Prix Videre Relève qui souligne la récente production d’un (e) artiste de la scène émergeante s’étant démarquée de la programmation artistique de la région de Québec, les finalistes sont:

Thierry Arcand-Bossé

Pour son exposition à la Galerie Lacerte en février 2007. Cette exposition était composée d’œuvres récentes toujours empreintes de la fougue caractérisant le geste de l’artiste. Une réflexion sur une urgence oppressante et un certain mensonge politique, amenée par une iconographie de symboles tantôt populaires, tantôt techniques.

Christian Messier

Pour sa performance lors du Putain de bal masqué pervers organisé par Folie/Culture dans le cadre de l’événement DSM-V+, en octobre 2006. La performance qu’il y a présentée était une forte expérience sensible oscillant entre le geste extrême et la fragilité du corps.

Mathieu Valade

Pour son intervention Les belles balles, présentée en collaboration avec l’Œil de Poisson dans un champ du rang Rapide sud, à St-Casimir. Des formes revisitées et disséminées çà et là dans le champ participaient à faire basculer une partie de la campagne de Saint-Casimir. Ce projet fait partie d’une série de quatre interventions — Géométrie rurale — où l’artiste, en insérant des formes géométriques simples dans le paysage, joue à détourner nos perceptions convenues de celui-ci.

Comme le Prix Videre Reconnaissance est attribué en couronnement de la carrière d’un ou d’une artiste s’étant distingué (e) pour l’excellence, l’originalité et la qualité remarquable de ses œuvres récentes, il sera spécialement remis le soir du gala sans mise en candidature préalable.

– 30 –

Renseignements : Lysandre Bouchard / Agente de communication Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec

T : 418-524-1917 /

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon