4 Quebec artists bound for Chile

4 Quebec artists bound for Chile

4 Quebec artists bound for Chile

Québec, September 24, 2007 – A delegation of Québec artists has just boarded a plane for Chile in order to participate in the 8th edition of the Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios in Santiago, Chile from October 2 to 28, 2007.

Accompanied by Claude Bélanger, curator of the Québec exhibition, Manon De Pauw, Martin Bureau, Jean-François Côté and Murielle Dupuis Larose left for Santiago, Chile on September 20 to participate in video creation residencies in the context of the Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios. Work by the four Québec artists, presented under the theme of Cities, Citizenships, Citizens, will be shown at the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo for the duration of the South American biennial, along with 20 works by international artists. A trilingual catalogue (English, French, Spanish) of the Québec production is being edited for the occasion.

This Québec presentation is co-produced by Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec and La Bande Vidéo (two Québec City art organizations whose mandate is to exhibit original work in visual and media arts) in association with the Chilean Video Corporation (the organization producing the Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios). The presentation follows exchanges that previously took place between Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec and Chilean organizations in the context of the Manif d’art 2 (2003) and the Semana Francofona in Chile (2004), as well as the recent presentation of Digital Chile_07 in Québec City. Go to the website of the biennial –www.bienaldevideo.cl– of Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec –www.manifdart.org– and of La Bande Vidéo – www.meduse.org/labandevideo/– for more information.

Painter and video artist, Martin Bureau lives and works in Saint-Jean-de-l’île-d’Orléans. His production focuses on staging contrasts that highlight engagement and criticism. He is particularly interested in notions of power, surveillance and control, particularly as exercised by and through media.

 

Montréal artist Manon De Pauw uses audio and video to observe relationships between individuals and groups in unique situations that she stages. For the duration of a video shoot, she creates micro-societies of artists who are subject to more or less strict rules where anything can occur. Her research focuses on gestures, mental and physical states, sound and the materialities they induce.

 

Jean-François Côté examines various ways to inhabit the world, to move within it and become part of it through critical engagement with the myriad images present in modern society. He is currently completing, in Québec City, a doctoral degree in visual art and art history.

 

Murielle Dupuis Larose, from Québec City, has an artistic practice that emphasizes a site-specific approach. In this project, she focuses her gaze on attempts to enter into relationship with others, highlighting ways with which to see.

– 30 –

4 Artistes du Québec à la rencontre du Chili

4 Artistes du Québec à la rencontre du Chili

4 Artistes du Québec à la rencontre du Chili

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Québec, 24 septembre 2007 – Une délégation d’artistes québécois vient tout juste de s’envoler pour le Chili afin de participer à la 8e édition de la Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago du Chili qui aura lieu du 2 au 28 octobre prochain.

C’est en compagnie de Claude Bélanger, commissaire de l’exposition québécoise, que Manon De Pauw, Martin Bureau, Jean-François Côté et Murielle Dupuis Larose, sont partis pour Santiago du Chili le 20 septembre dernier pour effectuer une résidence de création en vidéo dans le cadre de la Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios. Les œuvres des quatre artistes québécois, présentées sous le thème Cités, citoyennetés, citoyens, seront exposées au Museo de Arte Contemporáneo pour toute la durée de la biennale sud-américaine aux côtés des œuvres d’une vingtaine d’artistes internationaux. Un catalogue trilingue (anglais, espagnol, français) de cette production québécoise sera réalisé pour l’occasion.

Cette présentation québécoise résulte d’un travail de co-production entre Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec et La Bande Vidéo (deux organismes artistiques de Québec dont le mandat vise la diffusion d’œuvres originales en arts visuels et médiatiques) en association avec la Corporation chilienne de vidéo (organisme produisant la Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios). Elle fait suite à des échanges précédemment réalisés entre Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec et des organismes chiliens dans le cadre de la Manif d’art 2 (2003) et la Semana Francofona au Chili (2004), ainsi qu’à la présentation récente de Digital Chile_07 à Québec. Visitez le site Internet de la biennale –www.bienaldevideo.cl–, de Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec –www.manifdart.org– et de La Bande Vidéo –www.meduse.org/labandevideo/– pour de plus amples détails.

Peintre et vidéaste, Martin Bureau vit et travaille à Saint-Jean-de-l’île-d’Orléans. Sa production s’articule autour de contrastes mis en scène avec une intention d’engagement et de critique. Il s’intéresse particulièrement aux notions de pouvoir, de surveillance et de contrôle, notamment ceux exercés par les médias.

Dans une investigation audio et vidéo, l’artiste montréalaise Manon De Pauw observe les rapports entre l’individu et la collectivité dans le cadre de mises en situation particulières. Le temps d’un tournage, elle crée des microsociétés d’artistes régies par des règles plus ou moins strictes, mais où tout peut arriver sur le plan humain. Sa recherche s’articule autour de gestes et d’états mentaux et physiques, de sonorités et de matérialités induits par ceux-ci.

Jean-François Côté scrute diverses manières d’habiter le monde, de le parcourir et de s’y inscrire dans un rapport critique face à la multitude d’images présentes dans la société moderne. Il termine présentement son doctorat en arts visuels et histoire de l’art à Québec.

L’artiste québécoise Murielle Dupuis Larose présente une pratique artistique privilégiant une approche in situ. Dans le cadre de ce projet, elle articule son langage autour de la tentative de rentrer en relation avec l’autre, de saisir la manière de voir de l’autre.

– 30 –

Informations : Lysandre Bouchard / Agente de communication / 418.524.1917 /

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon