Jonathan Watkins takes place the helm at Manif d’art 9 -The Quebec City Biennial
Jonathan Watkins takes place the helm at Manif d’art 9 -The Quebec City Biennial

Jonathan Watkins takes place the helm at Manif d’art 9 -The Quebec City Biennial

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Quebec City, February 19, 2018 – Manif d’art is pleased to announce the curator for the ninth edition of its flagship event, the Quebec City Biennial. Jonathan Watkins, Director of Ikon Gallery in Birmingham, England, has made his mark in numerous international events over the years, from Sydney to Turin, Sharjah to Guangzhou, and Milan to Venice. This year he pilots Manif d’art 9 –The Quebec City Biennial. Produced in collaboration with the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ), the biennial event will once again reside in various venues throughout Quebec City between February 14 and April 21, 2019. Jonathan Watkins’ program is entitled Small Between the Stars, Large Against the Sky, and will be mounted in collaboration with Manif d’art’s general and artistic director Claude Bélanger, the MNBAQ’s contemporary art curator Bernard Lamarche, and the Biennial’s assistant curator Michelle Drapeau.

“It is a great honour to have been appointed curator of the next Biennale de Quebec, to have such an opportunity to proceed with a sense of adventure from its illustrious history. Quebec is a remarkable city, intensely artistic in its character, brimming with creative energy and positive attitude. As much as possible, I intend to engage with it as a whole, to make a very international biennial whilst being mindful of where we are, to present an abundance of contemporary art that is at once stimulating, of the highest quality and relevant.”  – Jonathan Watkins, curator of Manif d’art 9.

A theme inspired by Quebec City and a song by Leonard Cohen

The idea for the theme was sparked last summer, during Jonathan Watkins’ most recent visit to Quebec City. Inspired by the city’s geographic location in the heart of the Laurentian forest, he quickly came upon the notion of uniting art and nature. The time of year of the Biennial, between winter and spring, also influenced his choice of this vast and ambitious theme, thus attuning Manif d’art 9 to both geography and season.

The title of Manif d’art 9, Small Between the Stars, Large Against the Sky, comes from the lyrics of a song by Leonard Cohen (“Stories of the Street,” 1967). Throughout his life, this extraordinary artist was preoccupied with our place in the natural order. From Cohen’s perspective, our cultural achievements should be seen in a universal context much broader than those that define conventional notions pitting art against nature. Jonathan Watkins intends to use this theme to draw our attention to the continuities between art and everyday (human) life. The questions raised will lead us to apprehend where we are, between and against the immensity we usually take for granted.

“With the main exhibition being presented at the MNBAQ in the Pierre Lassonde Pavilion, Manif d’art 9 –The Quebec City Biennial holds the key to all possible worlds. Jonathan Watkins will gather together, around the expansive and inspiring theme Small Between the Stars, Large Against the Sky, artists who will make Quebec City and the MNBAQ destinations of choice in 2019.” said Line Ouellet, director and chief curator of MNBAQ.

“Proud of our success with Manif d’art 8, we are enthusiastically diving into the production of this new edition, in collaboration with the MNBAQ. And working with Jonathan Watkins, whose reputation in the contemporary art world is firmly established, is an incredible privilege.”  to say Claude Bélanger, general and artistic director of Manif d’art. “We are excited for 2019, on our way to the creation of the next edition ! ” concludes M. Bélanger.

– 30 –

Biographical notes, Jonathan Watkins
Jonathan Watkins has been Director of Ikon Gallery since 1999. Previously he worked for a number of years in London, as Curator of the Serpentine Gallery (1995-1997) and Director of Chisenhale Gallery (1990-1995).

He has curated a number of large international exhibitions including the Biennale of Sydney (1998), Facts of Life: Contemporary Japanese Art (Hayward Gallery, London 2001), Quotidiana (Castello di Rivoli, Turin 1999, Tate Triennial (2003), Shanghai Biennale (2006), Sharjah Biennial (2007), Negotiations (Today Art Museum, Beijing 2010) and the Guangzhou Triennial (2012). He was on the curatorial team for Europarte (Venice Biennale, 1997), Milano Europa 2000, (Palazzo di Triennale, Milan 2000), and Riwaq (Palestinian Biennial 2007). He curated the Iraqi Pavilion for the Venice Biennale in 2013 and Floating World, Bahrain in 2017. In 2019 Watkins curates Small Between the Stars, Large Against the Sky, at the Quebec Biennial.

Jonathan Watkins has written extensively on contemporary art. Essays have focused on the work of Giuseppe Penone, Martin Creed, Semyon Faibisovich, Yang Zhenzhong, Noguchi Rika, Caro Niederer, Beat Streuli and Cornelia Parker. He was the author of the Phaidon monograph on Japanese artist On Kawara.

About Manif d’art
One of Canada’s foremost contemporary art biennials, the Manif d’art – The Quebec City Biennial presents the work of some 100 artists from all disciplines. In addition to exhibitions, the event offers an array of activities based on a central theme, distinct for each edition. Since its inception in the fall of 2000, over 30 cultural organizations have helped to make this international festival an absolute must on the arts scene. Its far-reaching program appeals to specialists and novices alike.  Manif d’art 9 – The Quebec City Biennial will be held in the winter of 2019 is done in collaboration with the MNBAQ.

About the MNBAQ
The Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec is a unique museum complex in Quebec City bringing together art, architecture and nature. The museum owns a vast and definitive collection of Quebec art, including more than 38,000 works covering 400 years of history. It includes one of the largest collections of religious art in Quebec, a major collection of Inuit art, and an esteemed collection of contemporary art comprising more than 9,000 works, including sculptures, prints, ceramics, photographs, drawings, videos, installations, digital art, and media art. In 2016, a fourth pavilion, the Pierre Lassonde, was inaugurated to showcase the Museum’s contemporary art collection from the 1960s to today. The striking glass and steel building marrying history and contemporary design is where contemporary art from Quebec – including Inuit art, decorative art and design – is now displayed.

Source:
Contact for Manif d’art 9 – The Quebec City Biennial:
Émilie Poracchia
Director of Communications and Marketing
Manif d’art
communications@manifdart.org
418-524-1917

Contact for the MNBAQ:
Linda Tremblay
Head of Media Relations
MNBAQ
Linda.tremblay@mnbaq.org
418-644-6460, ext. 5532

Story of the Street’ by Leonard Cohen. Copyright © 1993, Leonard Cohen, used by permission of The Wylie Agency (UK) Limited
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Jonathan Watkins à la barre de Manif d’art 9 – La biennale de Québec
Jonathan Watkins à la barre de Manif d’art 9 – La biennale de Québec

Jonathan Watkins à la barre de Manif d’art 9 – La biennale de Québec

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Si petits entre les étoiles, si grands contre le ciel, en sera le titre.

Québec, le 19 février 2018 – Manif d’art est heureuse de dévoiler l’identité du commissaire de la neuvième édition de son événement phare, La biennale de Québec. Jonathan Watkins, directeur de la Ikon Gallery à Birmingham en Angleterre, qui s’est démarqué au fil du temps dans de multiples événements internationaux, de Sydney à Turin en passant par Charjah aux Émirats arabes unis, Guangzhou en Chine, Milan et Venise, sera donc à la barre de Manif d’art 9 – La biennale de Québec. Réalisé en collaboration avec le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ), l’événement bisannuel investira à nouveau tout le territoire de la ville de Québec du 14 février au 21 avril 2019. Jonathan Watkins élaborera une programmation autour du thème Si petits entre les étoiles, si grands contre le ciel, inspiré notamment des mots de Leonard Cohen, en complicité avec Claude Bélanger, directeur général et artistique de Manif d’art, Bernard Lamarche, conservateur de l’art actuel au MNBAQ et Michelle Drapeau, commissaire adjointe de la biennale.

« C’est pour moi un grand honneur d’avoir été nommé commissaire de la prochaine biennale de Québec et d’avoir une telle occasion de cultiver un esprit d’aventure en m’inspirant de la riche histoire des lieux. Québec est une ville remarquable, au caractère intensément artistique, débordant d’une énergie créative et d’une attitude positive. Autant que possible, j’ai l’intention de m’en imprégner pleinement, d’organiser une biennale très internationale en restant conscient de l’endroit où nous sommes et de présenter une abondance d’œuvres d’art contemporain qui soient à la fois stimulantes, de la plus haute qualité et pertinentes. » – Jonathan Watkins, commissaire de Manif d’art 9

Une thématique inspirée de la ville de Québec et d’une chanson de Leonard Cohen
C’est l’été dernier, lors de sa dernière visite à Québec, que l’idée de la thématique a germé dans l’esprit de Jonathan Watkins. Inspirée par la situation géographique de la ville de Québec, logée au cœur de la forêt laurentienne, l’idée d’allier l’art et la nature s’est vite imposée. D’ailleurs, la période sur laquelle s’étend la biennale, de l’hiver au printemps, a aussi influencé le choix de cette thématique vaste et ambitieuse. C’est donc en phase avec la géographie et le climat que Manif d’art 9 sera articulée.

Le titre de Manif d’art 9, Si petits entre les étoiles, si grands contre le ciel1, est une paraphrase des paroles d’une chanson de Leonard Cohen (Stories of the Street, 1967). Tout au long de sa vie, cet artiste extraordinaire était préoccupé par notre place dans l’ordre naturel. Du point de vue de Cohen, nos réalisations culturelles doivent être considérées dans le contexte d’une image universelle beaucoup plus grande qui défie les idées conventionnelles de l’art contre la nature. L’intention de Jonathan Watkins avec cette thématique est d’attirer notre attention sur les continuités entre l’art et la vie quotidienne (humaine). L’enjeu principal sera d’appréhender l’endroit où nous sommes, contre et entre les énormités que nous tenons habituellement pour acquises.

« En présentant l’exposition centrale au MNBAQ, dans le pavillon Pierre Lassonde, Manif d’art 9 – La biennale de Québec détient la clé de tous les possibles. Les artistes, que Jonathan Watkins va rassembler autour d’un thème aussi ouvert qu’inspirant, Si petits entre les étoiles, si grands contre le ciel, vont faire de la ville de Québec et du MNBAQ une destination incontournable à l’hiver 2019. » de dire Line Ouellet, directrice et conservatrice en chef du MNBAQ.

« Fier du succès et du rayonnement de Manif d’art 8, c’est avec enthousiasme que nous plongeons dans la production de cette neuvième édition, en collaboration avec le MNBAQ. De plus, travailler avec Jonathan Watkins, dont la réputation dans le milieu de l’art contemporain n’est plus à faire, est un privilège inouï. » de s’exprimer Claude Bélanger, directeur général et artistique de Manif d’art. « Vivement 2019, en route vers la création de la prochaine édition! » de conclure M. Bélanger.

– 30 –

Notes biographiques, Jonathan Watkins
Jonathan Watkins est le directeur de la Ikon Gallery à Birmingham depuis 1999. Précédemment, il a travaillé à Londres comme conservateur de la Serpentine Gallery (1995-1997) et comme directeur de Chisenhale Gallery (1990-1995).

Il a également été commissaire de plusieurs expositions internationales majeures : la biennale de Sydney en 1998, l’exposition Facts of life : Art japonais contemporain à la Hayward Gallery de Londres en 2001, l’exposition Quotidiana au Château de Rivoli à Turin en 1999, la Tate Triennal en 2003, la biennale de Shanghaï en 2006, la biennale de Charjah aux Émirats arabes unis en 2007, l’exposition Négociations au Musée d’art de Pékin en 2010 et la triennale de Guangzhou en Chine en 2012. Il était de l’équipe commissariale d’Europarte lors de la Biennale de Venise en 1997, de l’équipe de Milano Europe 2000 au Palais de la triennale à Milan en 2000 et de celle de Riwaq pour la biennale palestinienne en 2007. Il a également été commissaire du pavillon irakien pour la Biennale de Venise en 2013.

Jonathan Watkins a largement écrit sur l’art contemporain. Ses récents essais se sont concentrés sur le travail de Giuseppe Penone, Martin Creed, Semyon Faibisovich, Yang Zhenzhong, Rika Noguchi, Caro Niederer, Beat Streuli et Cornelia Parker. Il a également écrit une monographie de l’artiste japonais On Kawara publiée aux éditions Phaidon.

Manif d’art, en bref
Biennale majeure en art actuel sur la scène canadienne, Manif d’art – La biennale de Québec présente le travail de plus de 100 artistes provenant de tous les horizons. En plus des expositions, l’événement offre une pléiade d’activités évoluant autour d’un thème central, exclusif à chaque édition. Depuis sa première édition à l’automne 2000, plus de 50 organismes culturels contribuent à faire de ce festival international une expérience incontournable. Manif d’art – La biennale de Québec offre une vaste programmation qui plaît tant aux curieux qu’aux spécialistes. Manif d’art 9 – La biennale de Québec est réalisée en collaboration avec le MNBAQ.

MNBAQ, en bref
Le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec est un complexe muséal unique à Québec, alliant l’art, l’architecture et la nature. La vaste collection du Musée, la collection nationale de référence en art du Québec, compte plus de 40 000 œuvres, relatant 400 ans d’histoire. Cette riche collection compte l’une des plus importantes collections d’art religieux du Québec, une collection majeure d’art inuit ainsi qu’une collection exemplaire d’art contemporain avec plus de 9 000 œuvres : sculptures, estampes, céramiques, photos, dessins, vidéos, installations, art numérique et art médiatique. En 2016, un quatrième pavillon a été inauguré, le pavillon Pierre Lassonde, afin de mettre en lumière la collection d’art contemporain du Musée des années 1960 jusqu’à aujourd’hui. C’est dans un écrin de verre et d’acier, mariant le patrimoine au design contemporain, que l’art contemporain du Québec – incluant l’art inuit, l’art décoratif et le design – est désormais mis en valeur.

Source :
Contact pour Manif d’art 9 – La biennale de Québec :
Émilie Poracchia
Directrice des communications et du marketing
Manif d’art
communications@manifdart.org
418 524-1917

Contact pour le MNBAQ :
Linda Tremblay
Responsable des relations de presse
MNBAQ
Linda.tremblay@mnbaq.org
418-644-6460, poste 5532

1. Story of the Street’ by Leonard Cohen. Copyright © 1993, Leonard Cohen, used by permission of The Wylie Agency (UK) Limited
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon