Korean artist Yeondoo Jung at Manif d’art this summer
Korean artist Yeondoo Jung at Manif d’art this summer

Korean artist Yeondoo Jung at Manif d’art this summer

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Quebec City, July 11, 2016 – In advance of the next Biennial, which will take place from February 17 to March 14, 2017, Manif d’art is delighted to welcome Korean artist Yeondoo Jung this summer as artist-in-residence. Spurred by curiosity and a desire to learn more about our beautiful city, he is planning a highly original photography project in collaboration with the people of Quebec City. His project will be presented in an innovative way during Manif d’art 8.

Yeondoo Jung, a world-renowned photographer
Yeondoo Jung studied architecture and sculpture in Seoul and London before embarking on an artistic career based primarily on the visual arts. His works have featured in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Asia, Europe and the United States. He has also taken part in several international events, including the 2016 Venice Architectural Biennale. His many prizes include the “Today’s Young Artist Award,” presented by the South Korean Ministry of Culture in 2008. The artist is represented by the Tina Kim Gallery (New York) and Kukje Gallery (Seoul).

About Manif d’art
One of Canada’s foremost contemporary art biennials, the Manif d’art – Quebec City Biennial presents the work of some 100 artists from all disciplines. In addition to exhibitions, the event offers a wide array of activities based on a central theme, distinct for each edition. Since its inception in the fall of 2000, over 30 cultural organizations have helped to make this international festival an absolute must on the arts scene. Its far-reaching program appeals to specialists and novices alike. From February 17 to May 14, 2017,   Manif d’art 8 will unfold under the theme of The Art of Joy, deftly orchestrated by international curator Alexia Fabre.

Source :
Émilie Poracchia
Communications and marketing director
communications@manifdart.org
418 524-1917

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

L’artiste coréen Yeondoo Jung en résidence à Manif d’art cet été
L’artiste coréen Yeondoo Jung en résidence à Manif d’art cet été

L’artiste coréen Yeondoo Jung en résidence à Manif d’art cet été

Québec, le 11 juillet 2016 – En préparation de la prochaine biennale qui aura lieu du 17 février au 14 mai 2017, Manif d’art est fière d’accueillir l’artiste coréen Yeondoo Jung  en résidence cet été. Mû par la curiosité et le désir d’en apprendre davantage sur notre belle ville de Québec, il planifie la réalisation d’un projet de photographie inédit en collaboration avec les gens de Québec. Ce projet  sera présenté de manière tout à fait innovante lors de Manif d’art 8.

Yeondoo Jung, un photographe de renommée internationale
Yeondoo Jung a complété une formation en architecture et en sculpture à Séoul et à Londres avant de développer une pratique essentiellement tournée vers les arts visuels. Son travail a été présenté dans de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives en Asie, mais aussi en Europe et aux États-Unis. Il a également pris part à plusieurs événements internationaux, notamment la Biennale internationale d’architecture de Venise en 2016. Récipiendaire de plusieurs prix, Jung a notamment reçu le Today’s Young Artist Award décerné par le Ministère de la Culture de la Corée du Sud en 2008. L’artiste est représenté par la Tina Kim Gallery (New York) et la Kukje Gallery (Séoul).

Manif d’art, en bref
Biennale majeure en art actuel sur la scène canadienne, Manif d’art – La biennale de Québec présente le travail de plus de 100 artistes provenant de tous les horizons. En plus des expositions, l’évènement offre une pléiade d’activités évoluant autour d’un thème central, exclusif à chaque édition. Depuis sa première édition à l’automne 2000, plus de 30 organismes culturels contribuent à faire de ce festival international une expérience incontournable. Manif d’art – La biennale de Québec offre une vaste programmation qui plait tant aux curieux qu’aux spécialistes. Du 17 février au 14 mai 2017, Manif d’art 8 vibrera au rythme de L’Art de la joie soigneusement orchestrée par la commissaire internationale Alexia Fabre.
Source :
Émilie Poracchia
Directrice des communications et du marketing
Manif d’art
communications@manifdart.org
418 524-1917