Manif d’art 6: Ingrid Bachmann exhibits at MATERIA
Manif d’art 6: Ingrid Bachmann exhibits at MATERIA

Manif d’art 6: Ingrid Bachmann exhibits at MATERIA

For immediate release

Québec City, March 26, 2012 – The Manif d’art 6 is unveiling the first exhibition of its vast programming. From April 13 to May 20, Centre MATERIA is presenting the work of Ingrid Bachmann. Exceptionally, this exhibition opens prior to the official dates of the Québec City biennial, held May 3 to June 3.

In Bestiaire, an exhibition of sculptures by Ingrid Bachmann, some of which subtly move and are accompanied by drawings, the artist wanted to give technology back its pelt, to reintroduce the animal, the bestial, back into technology and to continue her work in grounding the digital experience in the material realm. In the artist’s words, “With Bestiaire, I hope to introduce what is bestial and disorderly into the field of digital technology, pursuing my desire to root digital experiences in the material world.” The artist exhibits a vocabulary of minimal shapes with strong associations. Ingrid Bachmann’s sculptures are part of a sustained reflection on how to bring inert matter to life.

This exhibition is also presented in the context of En avril… fibre textile art, an annual event designed to promote fiber and textile arts in visual arts, design and traditional work.

Multidisciplinary artist Ingrid Bachmann has shown her work nationally and internationally. She co-edited Material Matters (YYZ Books, 1998, 1999 and 2011) and is the author of several essays published in journals and anthologies, including The Object of Labor (MIT Press, 2007). She is a co-founding member of Hexagram-Concordia and founder and director of the Institute of Everyday Life, both in Montréal.

MATERIA is the only artist-run centre in Canada dedicated to all the applied arts. Its mission is to present and promote research and creation in contemporary applied arts, both nationally and internationally.

From May 3 to June 3, 2012, the Manif d’art 6 invites visitors to embark on an artistic tour and participate in activities on the theme of Machines – The Shapes of Movement, chosen by curator Nicole Gingras. In adding satellite activities to the official selection, the Québec City biennial brings together 75 artists in 30 venues in Québec City and surrounding areas. Complete programming for the event will be revealed at a press conference on April 10.

Dates: April 13 to May 20, 2012
Opening: Friday, April 13 at 5 p.m.
Venue: Centre MATERIA, 395, Charest Blvd. East, Québec, H1K 3H3
Business Hours: Wednesday through Sunday from noon to 5pm (8pm on Thursdays)
Entry is free admisson until May 2

– 30 –


Sources:

Eve Simard-Meighen
Interim Director, Centre MATERIA
418-524-0354
esmeighen@centremateria.com

Patrick Fournier
Communications Coordonator
Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec
418 524-1917
communication@manifdart.org

Manif d’art 6 : Ingrid Bachmann expose à MATERIA
Manif d’art 6 : Ingrid Bachmann expose à MATERIA

Manif d’art 6 : Ingrid Bachmann expose à MATERIA

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Québec, le 28 mars 2012 – La Manif d’art 6 dévoile une première exposition de sa vaste programmation. Le Centre MATERIA accueille Ingrid Bachmann du 13 avril au 20 mai. Exceptionnellement, cette exposition devance les dates officielles de la biennale de Québec qui sont du 3 mai au 3 juin.

Dans Bestiaire, une exposition présentant les sculptures d’Ingrid Bachmann, dont certaines sont animées de mouvements subtils et accompagnées de dessins, l’artiste souhaite incarner la technologie dans un cadre sensuel où la fourrure, ou plutôt une idée de la fourrure, suggère cette notion. Elle confie : « Avec Bestiaire, je désire amener le bestial et le désordre dans le domaine de la technologie numérique et poursuivre ma démarche d’enracinement de l’expérience numérique dans le monde matériel. » L’artiste expose ici un vocabulaire de formes minimales qui se chargent de fortes évocations. Les sculptures d’Ingrid Bachmann participent à une réflexion approfondie sur les manières d’animer l’inerte.

Cette exposition est également présentée dans le cadre de En avril… fibre textile art, un événement annuel qui vise à mettre en valeur les arts de la fibre et du textile en arts visuels, design et patrimoine.

Artiste multidisciplinaire, Ingrid Bachmann a exposé ses œuvres sur la scène nationale et internationale. Corédactrice de Material Matters (YYZ Books, 1998, 1999 et 2011), elle a en outre rédigé plusieurs essais pour des anthologies et des revues, notamment The Object of Labor (MIT Press, 2007). Elle est membre cofondatrice d’Hexagram et directrice de l’Institut de la vie quotidienne, situés tous deux à Montréal.

MATERIA, seul centre d’artistes et de diffusion dédié à l’ensemble des métiers d’art au Canada, a pour mission de diffuser et promouvoir la recherche et la création dans le domaine des métiers d’art actuels, aux plans national et international.

Du 3 mai au 3 juin 2012, la Manif d’art 6 invite les visiteurs à suivre le parcours artistique et à participer aux activités qui évoluent autour du thème Machines – Les formes du mouvement, choisi par la commissaire Nicole Gingras. En ajoutant les activités satellites à la sélection officielle, la biennale de Québec rassemble 75 artistes répartis dans 30 lieux de Québec et des environs. La programmation complète de l’événement sera dévoilée le 10 avril lors de la conférence de presse.

Dates: 13 avril au 20 mai 2012
Vernissage: le vendredi 13 avril à 17 h
Lieu: Centre MATERIA, 395, boul. Charest Est, Québec, H1K 3H3
Heures d’ouverture: du mercredi au dimanche de 12 h à 17 h et jusqu’à 20 h le jeudi.
Entrée libre jusqu’au 2 mai

– 30 –

Sources :

Eve Simard-Meighen
Directrice par intérim, Centre MATERIA
418-524-0354
esmeighen@centremateria.com

Patrick Fournier
Coordonnateur aux communications, Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec
418 524-1917
communication@manifdart.org

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon