Manif d’art 7: contemporary art on display
Manif d’art 7: contemporary art on display

Manif d’art 7: contemporary art on display

Quebec City, Tuesday, April 8, 2014 The program for Manif d’art 7 – The Quebec City Biennial, curated by Vicky Chainey Gagnon, was unveiled today at a press conference. The public is invited to view the exhibits and take part in the many activities organized under the theme of Resistance – And Then, We Built New Forms. The Quebec City biennial will gather over 120 artists whose works will be displayed at 35 venues in Quebec City, Lévis and Wendake from May 3 to June 1. TV and radio host Matthieu Dugal is this year’s spokesperson. 
 
To make sure biennial participants get the whole experience of this event, four walking tours of the exhibit venues have been laid out. The extensive event program comprises nearly 50 activities, such as special events, workshops, meetings with the artists and guided tours.
 
At the heart of the biennial
The Curator for the 7th edition of this event, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, has gathered a host of Quebec, Canadian and international artists who have created works inspired by the theme of resistance in all its forms. The biennial is actually a large circuit of interrelated exhibits. A total of 36 artists from 8 countries will display their works at 20 venues. Once again, the main venue for the event will be at Espace 400e Bell in the Old Port of Quebec, where the works of 13 artists will be showcased.
 
The guidelines for Manif d’art 7 were defined by Curator Vicky Chainey Gagnon and focus on the theme of resistance. This biennial underscores the critical role played by the visual and media arts in the documentation of conflicts and manifestations of resistance. The Curator develops the theme by addressing the many tactics and strategies on which are based current radical practices. The political role of art, film, video and performance in association with resistance is examined and discussed.
 
For the first time at a Manif d’art biennial, the theoretical piece produced following a reflection on the theme will be unveiled at the Manif d’art 7 Benefit Premiere Event on Friday, May 2, 2014. The catalogue for Resistance – And Then, We Built New Forms comprises all of the theoretical texts on resistance and a colour portfolio of the 36 artists chosen by the Curator.
 
Venues
In addition to Espace 400e Bell, the main venue for the biennial, the participating artists’ works will be displayed at 16 other venues selected by the Curator: Antitube and Les Productions Recto-Verso (videos screened at studio d’Essai); Avatar; Engramme; Galerie des arts visuels; Le Grand Théâtre de Québec; La Bande Vidéo; la chambre blanche; Le Lieu; L’Œil de Poisson; MATERIA; Musée de la civilisation; Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec; Regart; Vidéo Femmes (videos screened at Le Cercle); and VU PHOTO.
 
Extensive program for the special partners and satellite organizations
Manif d’art can count on the support of cultural organizations in Quebec City and Wendake to offer a range of exhibits and activities on the theme of resistance. For this occasion, four Guest Curators share their vision of the theme.
 
During the four evenings of audio and video shows at Le Cercle, Érick d’Orion will introduce the series Guerillas: United by Sound. Young Guest Curators Anne-Sophie Blanchet and Anne Pilorget will display the work of 9 artists at, respectively, Maison Hamel-Bruneau and four Quebec City libraries. Sociologist and art critic Guy Sioui Durand will present an exhibit featuring the creations of two Aboriginal artists at the Huron-Wendat Museum.
 
Over 20 organizations will also host exhibit and satellite activities, some of which are associated with the theme chosen by the Curator. This part of the program includes screenings, a gourmet meal, modern dance, guided tours, discussions, a live radio show from Espace 400e Bell and exhibits.
The satellite organizations are: Art Souterrain; CKRL 89,1; Comité populaire Saint-Jean-Baptiste; EXMURO arts publics; Folie/Culture; Galerie Lacerte; Galerie Michel Guimont; Galerie Morgan Bridge Gallery; Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec; La Rotonde, centre chorégraphique contemporain de Québec; Le Tiers Temps; Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec; Regroupement des artistes en arts visuels du Québec; Réseau intercollégial des activités socioculturelles du Québec; Spirafilm; and Tam Tam Café.
 
The pin
With a pin, you get free admission to the exhibits of the biennial, a discount on the admission fee to some paid activities and various discounts at different participating businesses.
 
Rates
Adults: $15*
Students (student card required): $10*
*including taxes
 
The Réseau de transport de la Capitale (RTC) is happy to be a part of Quebec City’s cultural life by teaming up with Manif d’art 7. Upon presenting their OPUS card when purchasing the pin to access the event, customers of the RTC will get a $2 discount. As most sites of the event are very well served by public transportation, it is both a convenient and interesting partnership.
 
Present one of the following for a $1 discount on the regular price of a pin: Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec membership card or Musée de la civilisation membership card.

 

Points of Sale (starting April 21)
Espace 400e Bell
Manif d’art offices
Antitube
Avatar
Gabrielle-Roy Public Library
Engramme
Galerie des arts visuels
L’Œil de Poisson
La Bande Vidéo
Le Cercle
Le Lieu
MATERIA
Musée de la civilisation
Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Regart (Lévis)
Librairie Formats (Montreal)

 

Media relations in the Quebec City area :
Marie-Ève Charlebois, Communications Sira ba,
418-524-4648, marie-eve@sira-ba.com
Media relations in Montreal :
Marie Marais, Media Relations Officer, 514-845-2821, marais@cooptel.qc.ca

 

Source and media relations outside Quebec :
Patrick Fournier, Director of Communications,
Manif d’art, 418-524-1917,
communications@manifdart.org

Manif d’art 7 : l’art actuel se manifeste
Manif d’art 7 : l’art actuel se manifeste

Manif d’art 7 : l’art actuel se manifeste

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon
Québec, le mardi 8 avril 2014 La programmation de Manif d’art 7 – La biennale de Québec, dont le commissariat est assuré par Vicky Chainey Gagnon, a été dévoilée aujourd’hui en conférence de presse. Du 3 mai au 1er juin, le public est invité à découvrir les expositions et à participer aux nombreuses activités qui évoluent autour du thème Résistance – Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes. La biennale de Québec rassemble cette année plus de 120 artistes répartis dans 35 lieux de Québec, Lévis et Wendake. C’est l’animateur et chroniqueur Matthieu Dugal qui en est le porte-parole.

Pour ne rien manquer, 4 parcours de visite sont proposés afin de découvrir à pied les lieux d’exposition. Un vaste programme d’activités est également offert : des événements spéciaux, des ateliers, des rencontres et des visites guidées sont inscrits dans un calendrier comprenant près de 50 activités.

Le cœur de la biennale

La commissaire de cette 7e édition, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, a réuni des artistes québécois, canadiens et internationaux qui font écho à une réflexion profonde sur la résistance et ses différentes manifestations. Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes est le cœur de la biennale. Il s’agit d’un grand circuit composé d’une série d’expositions interreliées. Au total, la sélection de la commissaire comprend 36 artistes provenant de 8 pays et exposant dans 20 lieux. Cette année encore, l’Espace 400e Bell, situé au Vieux-Port de Québec, est le lieu central de l’événement et rassemble 13 artistes.

Les lignes directrices de Manif d’art 7, telles que définies par la commissaire Vicky Chainey Gagnon, se déploient autour du thème de la résistance. L’événement met de l’avant la reconnaissance du rôle critique joué par les arts visuels et médiatiques dans la documentation de conflits et de manifestations de résistance. La commissaire approfondit le thème en abordant les nombreuses tactiques et stratégies qui façonnent les pratiques radicales actuelles. Dans chacun des cas, c’est la fonction politique de l’art, du cinéma, de la vidéo et de la performance qui est examinée.

Une première cette année : l’ouvrage théorique produit dans la foulée de cette réflexion sera lancé lors de la soirée d’Avant-Première bénéfice de Manif d’art 7, le vendredi 2 mai 2014. Le catalogue Résistance – Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes comprend un dossier de textes théoriques sur la résistance et un portfolio en couleur des 36 artistes sélectionnés par la commissaire.

Les codiffuseurs

En plus de l’exposition centrale à l’Espace 400e Bell, 16 codiffuseurs présentent des œuvres sélectionnées par la commissaire : Antitube et Les Productions Recto-Verso (projections présentées au studio d’Essai); Avatar; Engramme; Galerie des arts visuels; le Grand Théâtre de Québec; La Bande Vidéo; la chambre blanche; Le Lieu; L’Œil de Poisson; MATERIA; Musée de la civilisation; Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec; Regart; Vidéo Femmes (projection présentée au Cercle); VU PHOTO.

Vaste programmation des collaborateurs spéciaux et des organismes satellites

Manif d’art a pu compter sur la collaboration spéciale d’organismes culturels de Québec et de Wendake pour offrir un volet d’expositions et d’activités axées sur la résistance. Pour l’occasion, 4 commissaires invités proposent leur vision de la thématique.

Lors de 4 soirées de performances sonores et cinématographiques au Cercle, Érick d’Orion présente la série Guérilla : unis par le bruit. Les jeunes commissaires Anne-Sophie Blanchet et Anne Pilorget proposent des expositions à la Maison Hamel-Bruneau et dans 4 bibliothèques de Québec. Enfin, Guy Sioui Durand, sociologue et critique d’art, signe une exposition qui rassemble les œuvres de 2 artistes autochtones au Musée huron-wendat.

Plus de 20 organismes offrent également des expositions et des activités satellites rattachées ou non à la thématique choisie par la commissaire. Cette section de la programmation compte entre autres des projections, un repas gastronomique, de la danse contemporaine, des visites guidées, des échanges, une émission radiophonique en direct de l’Espace 400e Bell.

Les organismes satellites sont : Art Souterrain; CKRL 89,1; Comité populaire Saint-Jean-Baptiste; EXMURO arts publics; Folie/Culture; Galerie Lacerte; Galerie Michel Guimont; Galerie Morgan Bridge Gallery; Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec; La Rotonde, centre chorégraphique contemporain de Québec; Le Tiers Temps; Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec; Regroupement des artistes en arts visuels du Québec; Réseau intercollégial des activités socioculturelles du Québec; Spirafilm; Tam Tam Café.

Macaron

Valide pour la durée de la biennale, le macaron donne accès aux expositions payantes de la biennale et offre des rabais pour certaines activités et chez des commerçants du centre-ville.

Adultes : 15 $ taxes incluses

Étudiants (carte étudiante obligatoire) : 10 $ taxes incluses

Le Réseau de transport de la Capitale (RTC) est heureux de participer à la vie culturelle de Québec en s’associant à Manif d’art 7. En présentant leur carte OPUS à l’achat du macaron pour assister à l’événement, les clients du RTC profiteront d’un rabais de 2 $. Comme la plupart des sites sont très bien desservis par le transport en commun, ce partenariat est à la fois pratique et intéressant.

Les membres du Musée nationale des beaux-arts et les abonné(e)s des Musées de la civilisation obtiennent 1$ de rabais à l’achat du macaron (sur présentation de leur carte).

 

Points de vente (dès le 21 avril)

Espace 400e Bell

Bureaux de Manif d’art

Antitube

Avatar

Bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy

Engramme

Galerie des arts visuels

L’Œil de Poisson

La Bande Vidéo

Le Cercle

Le Lieu

MATERIA

Musée de la civilisation

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

Regart (Lévis)

Librairie Formats (Montréal)

Relations de presse Québec et régions :

Marie-Ève Charlebois, Communications Sira ba,

418-524-4648, marie-eve@sira-ba.com

Relations de presse Montréal :

Marie Marais, attachée de presse, 514-845-2821, marais@cooptel.qc.ca

 

Source et relations de presse hors du Québec :

Patrick Fournier, directeur des communications,

Manif d’art, 418-524-1917,

communications@manifdart.org

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someoneGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon