Sarah Maloney and Karine Payette

Natura Humana

 

Collapse, 2009

Water Level, 2016

Sculpture / installation

Stemming from her research in botany, history and women’s studies, Sarah Maloney’s flowers serve as archetypes of beauty, but also as invitations to reflect upon such issues as the environment, the quest for emancipation and the stereotypes that go along with them.
The artist gratefully acknowledges the support of Arts Nova Scotia.

 

 

Materia

395, boulevard Charest Est
Quebec city
418 524-0354
centremateria.com

 

February 18 to March 19
Wednesday to Sunday – 11:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Opening – February 18, 7:15 p.m.

 

© Sarah Maloney, Collapse, 2009. Photo : Renaud Philippe / KAHEM 2017

Sarah Maloney

(Halifax, Canada)

Sarah Maloney has a degree in fine arts from Nova Scotia College of Art and Design and a master’s degree from university of Windsor. She has shown works in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Canada and elsewhere in the world. Her works are held in the collections of the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia and the Beaverbrook gallery in New Brunswick, among others. She has been awarded several prizes and grants, in particular from the Canada Council for the Arts, the New Brunswick Arts Board and the Arts Nova Scotia agency.

smaloney.com

 


 

Pavlov, 2016

De part et d’autre, 2016

Sculpture

By giving animals a human posture and demeanour, Karine Payette’s Pavlov and De part et d’autre spark reflections on our social behaviour and attitudes. Filled with ambiguity and unease, they underscore the urge of certain individuals to control, manipulate and dominate others.

 

Materia

395, boulevard Charest Est
Quebec city
418 524-0354
centremateria.com

 

February 18 to March 19
Wednesday to Sunday – 11:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Opening –  February 18, 7:15 p.m.

 

karine_payette_pavlov
© Karine Payette, Pavlov, 2016. Photo : Mike Patten

 

Karine Payette

(Montreal, Canada)

Karine Payette has a master’s degree in visual arts from Université du Québec in Montréal. She has had several solo exhibitions in Quebec and Germany and also participated in more than 20 group exhibitions, mainly in Canada but also in France. In 2015, she carried out two projects that integrated art in architecture for schools in Montreal. Her works are in several private and public collections, such as the Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul. Karine Payette is represented by the gallery Art Mûr (Montreal).

karinepayette.com

Sarah Maloney et Karine Payette

Natura Humana

Collapse, 2009

Water Level, 2016

Sculpture / installation

Fruits de recherches en botanique, en histoire et en études féministes, les fleurs de Sarah Maloney se présentent comme un archétype de beauté, mais également comme une invitation à la réflexion sur des enjeux tels que l’environnement, la quête de l’émancipation et les stéréotypes liés au genre.

 

L’artiste tient à remercier Arts Nova Scotia pour son appui.

Materia

395, boulevard Charest Est
Québec
418 524-0354
centremateria.com

 

18 février au 19 mars
Mercredi au dimanche – 11 h 30 à 17 h 30
Vernissage le 18 février à 19 h 15

 

sarah-maloney_collapse

© Sarah Maloney, Collapse, 2009
Photo : Morrow Scot-Brown

 

Sarah Maloney

(Halifax, Canada)

Sarah Maloney détient un baccalauréat en arts du Nova Scotia College of Art and Design et une maîtrise de l’Université de Windsor. Elle a participé à de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives au Canada et à l’étranger. Ses œuvres font entre autres partie des collections du Musée des beaux-arts de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de la Galerie d’art Beaverbrook au Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a reçu plusieurs prix et bourses, notamment du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’agence Arts Nouvelle-Écosse.

smaloney.com

 


 

Pavlov, 2016

De part et d’autre, 2016

Sculpture

En affublant l’animal d’une attitude et d’une posture humaines les œuvres Pavlov et De part et d’autre induisent une réflexion sur les comportements sociaux. Chargées d’ambiguïté et d’inconfort, elles remettent notamment en perspective la propension de certains individus à vouloir contrôler et manipuler les autres pour mieux les dominer.

 

Materia

395, boulevard Charest Est
Québec
418 524-0354
centremateria.com

 

 

18 février au 19 mars
Mercredi au dimanche – 11 h 30 à 17 h 30
Vernissage le 18 février à 19 h 15

 

karine_payette_pavlov

© Karine Payette, Pavlov, 2016
Photo : Mike Patten

 

Karine Payette

(Montréal, Canada)

Karine Payette détient une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Son travail a fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions individuelles au Québec et en Allemagne. L’artiste a également participé à plus d’une vingtaine d’expositions collectives, principalement au Canada, mais aussi en France. En 2015, elle a réalisé deux projets d’intégration des arts à l’architecture pour des écoles montréalaises. Son travail figure dans plusieurs collections privées et publiques, comme celle du Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul. Payette est représentée par la galerie Art Mûr (Montréal).

karinepayette.com