Manasie Akpaliapik

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Carved out of whale bone, the works of Manasie Akpaliapik use the organic forms of the material to reveal complex representations of the interrelations of the living.   Manasie Akpaliapik, L’Homme et le hibou, vers 2000   Manasie Akpaliapik (Arctic Bay, Nunavut) Born in 1955 […]

Shuvinai Ashoona

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Dense, meticulous, and radiantly chromatic, Shuvinai Ashoona’s drawing compositions create a singular iconographic universe combining everyday life with myth.     Shuvinai Ashoona (Kinngait, Nunavut) Shuvinai Ashoona was born in 1961. She began to draw in 1993 and joined Kinngait’s Annual Print Collection in 1997. […]

Christiane Baumgartner

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Resulting from a long process of wood engraving, Christriane Baumgartner’s monumental prints The Wave and Phoenix confront the elemental forces of nature.    © Christiane Baumgartner, The Wave   Christiane Baumgartner (Germany) Christiane Baumgartner, a native of Leipzig, Germany, was born in 1967. Trained at […]

Patrick Bernatchez

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Aphélie 1 by Patrick Bernatchez is a post-experimental installation. It refers to the daily recordings of a natural phenomenon: the luminous variations of the Sun.   Patrick Bernatchez, Aphélie 1, 2016   Patrick Bernatchez (Montreal, Québec) Self-taught artist Patrick Bernatchez was born in 1972 and […]

Vija Celmins

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Whether they depict starry skies or spider webs, Vija Celmins’s hyperrealist drawings are attempts to grasp the universe’s immensity, one detail at a time.   Vija Celmins, Untitled (Large Night Sky), 2016   Vija Celmins (Riga, Latvia) Born in 1938 in Riga, Lithuania, Vija Celmins completed […]

Daniel Corbeil

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Inspired by environmental sciences and utopian architecture, Daniel Corbeil’s Cité laboratoire is an inventive model of urban solutions in preparation for impending climate change.    Daniel Corbeil, La Cité laboratoire © Guy L’Heureux   Daniel Corbeil (Val-d’Or, Quebec) Daniel Corbeil, born in Val-d’Or in 1960, holds a […]

Michael Flomen

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Michael Flomen lets the creative forces of nature act on photosensitive paper during night performances under the moonlight.   Michael Flomen, Double Trouble, 2001, printed 2014   Michael Flomen (Montreal, Quebec) Born in 1952, Michael Flomen, a self-taught Montreal artist, has been practicing photography since […]

Caroline Gagné

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Visual, sonic, and tactile, Caroline Gagné’s installation The sound of icebergs translates and shares the sublime experience of approaching a drifting iceberg.   © Caroline Gagné, The sound of icebergs, 2016   Caroline Gagné (Quebec City, Quebec) Caroline Gagné is an artist from Quebec City […]

Jim Holyoak and Matt Shane

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   The gloomy worlds of this artistic duo create phantasmagorical ecosystems on the verge of reality. The Who’s Haunts immerses the viewer in a house engulfed by the entropic forces of nature.   © Jim Shane Holyoak and Matt Shane, The Who’s Haunts, 2018   Jim Holyoak and Matt […]

Krištof Kintera

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Krištof Kintera’s sculptural accumulations come across as absurd and disturbing testimonies of excess in the era of hyperconsumption and planned obsolescence.   © Krištof Kintera, Postnaturalia, 2017   Krištof Kintera (Prague, Czech Republic) Krištof Kintera, born in 1973, completed his studies at the Academy of […]

Dinh Q. Lê

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   The Colony is a video installation transporting the viewer to the Chincha Islands on the Peruvian coast, an emblematic place of international geopolitical tensions generated by the exploitation of rare natural resources.     Dinh Q. Lê (Vietnam, États-Unis) Dinh Q. Lê completed a bachelor […]

Britta Marakatt-Labba

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Dense, meticulous, and radiantly chromatic, Shuvinai Ashoona’s drawing compositions create a singular iconographic universe combining everyday life with myth.     Britta Marakatt-Labba (Sami, Sweden) Britta Marakatt-Labba was born in 1951 in Idivuoma in northern Sweden to a family of reindeer herders. She studied at […]

Meryl McMaster

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Meryl McMaster performs in front of the camera to celebrate the land and its historical anchor points by portraying allegorical characters freely inspired by the Indigenous imagination.   © Meryl McMaster, Dream Catcher, 2015   Meryl McMaster (Siksika, Ontario) Meryl McMaster, born in 1988, has […]

Fanny Mesnard

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Fanny Mesnard’s visual universe is peopled with hybrid characters evoking the animistic beliefs and fabrications that inhabit and condition human relationships with nature.   Fanny Mesnard, Jeux de rôles, 2016   Fanny Mesnard (Quebec City, Quebec) Fanny Mesnard graduated from Université Paris VIII in 2002, Aix-Marseille […]

Haroon Mirza

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Haroon Mirza’s technological installations utilize natural energy sources such as electricity and light to reflect on the complexities of today’s world through multisensorial symphonies.    Haroon Mirza, Solar Symphony 10 (Transverse Waves for Wayne), 2016   Haroon Mirza (London, England) Born in 1977, Haroon Mirza holds […]

Cornelia Parker

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Cornelia Parker explores the poetic resonances of matter disintegration. Composed of scrapwood, the sculptural installation No Man’s Land is dynamized by its suspension in space.     Cornelia Parker (Cheshire, England) Born in 1956 in Cheshire, England, Cornelia Parker has a bachelor’s from the Gloucestershire […]

Reno Salvail

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Fascinated by cartography and astronomy, Reno Salvail fashions his relationship to the visible world by amalgamating the natural landscape with his inner worlds, whether psychic or corporal. Dive into the depths of the starry sky reflected on a river in Le souffle de Pégase.   […]

Tomás Saraceno

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Tomás Saraceno’s sculptural installations put viewers into perspective, plunging them into a vertiginous vision of the cosmic universe.     Tomás Saraceno (Tucumán, Argentina) Born in Tucumán, Argentina, in 1973, Tomás Saraceno lives and works in Berlin. He studied at the University of Buenos Aires […]

Manasie Akpaliapik

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Sculptées dans l’os de baleine, les œuvres de Manasie Akpaliapik épousent les formes organiques du matériau pour laisser apparaître des figurations complexes renvoyant aux interrelations du vivant.   Manasie Akpaliapik, L’Homme et le hibou, vers 2000   Manasie Akpaliapik (Arctic Bay, Nunavut) Né en 1955 […]

Shuvinai Ashoona

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Denses, minutieuses et d’un chromatisme éclatant, les compositions dessinées de Shuvinai Ashoona dressent un univers iconographique singulier combinant le quotidien et le mythe.     Shuvinai Ashoona (Kinngait, Nunavut) Shuvinai Ashoona est née en 1961. Elle amorce une pratique en dessin en 1993 et se […]

Christiane Baumgartner

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Issues d’un long processus de gravure sur bois, les estampes monumentales de Christiane Baumgartner The Wave et Phoenix confrontent les forces élémentaires de la nature.    © Christiane Baumgartner, The Wave   Christiane Baumgartner (Allemagne) Originaire de Leipzig en Allemagne, Christiane Baumgartner est née en […]

Patrick Bernatchez

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Aphélie 1 de Patrick Bernatchez est une installation postexpérimentale. Elle fait état de l’enregistrement quotidien d’un phénomène naturel : les variations lumineuses du Soleil.   Patrick Bernatchez, Aphélie 1, 2016   Patrick Bernatchez (Montréal, Québec) Artiste autodidacte, Patrick Bernatchez, né en 1972, vit et travaille à […]

Vija Celmins

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Qu’ils figurent des ciels étoilés ou des toiles d’araignées, les dessins hyperréalistes de Vija Celmins constituent des tentatives d’appréhender l’immensité de l’univers, un détail à la fois.   Vija Celmins, Untitled (Large Night Sky), 2016   Vija Celmins (Lettonie, États-Unis) Née en 1938 à Riga, en […]

Daniel Corbeil

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Inspirée des sciences environnementales et de l’architecture utopique, La Cité laboratoire de Daniel Corbeil constitue un modèle inventif de solutions urbaines en préparation des bouleversements climatiques imminents.   Daniel Corbeil, La Cité laboratoire © Guy L’Heureux   Daniel Corbeil (Val-d’Or, Québec) Né à Val-d’Or en […]

Michael Flomen

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Michael Flomen laisse agir les forces créatrices de la nature sur du papier photosensible lors de performances nocturnes sous le clair de lune.   Michael Flomen, Double Trouble, 2001, printed 2014   Michael Flomen (Montréal, Québec) Artiste autodidacte montréalais né en 1952, Michael Flomen pratique […]

Caroline Gagné

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   À la fois visuelle, sonore et tactile, l’installation Le bruit des icebergs de Caroline Gagné traduit et partage l’expérience sublime de s’approcher d’un iceberg à la dérive.   © Caroline Gagné, Le bruit des icebergs, 2016   Caroline Gagné (Québec, Québec) Artiste de Québec, Caroline […]

Jim Holyoak et Matt Shane

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Les univers ténébreux de ce duo érigent des écosystèmes fantasmagoriques aux frontières du réel. The Who’s Haunts immerge le spectateur dans une maison subjuguée par les forces entropiques de la nature.   © Jim Shane Holyoak et Matt Shane, The Who’s Haunts, 2018   Jim Holyoak et […]

Krištof Kintera

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Les amoncellements sculpturaux de Krištof Kintera se présentent comme des témoignages absurdes et inquiétants des excès de production à l’ère de l’hyperconsommation et de l’obsolescence programmée.   © Krištof Kintera, Postnaturalia, 2017   Krištof Kintera (République Tchèque) Krištof Kintera, né en 1973, a effectué sa […]

Dinh Q. Lê

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   The Colony est une installation vidéo transportant le spectateur aux Îles Chincha sur la côte sud-ouest du Pérou, lieu emblématique des tensions géopolitiques internationales que peut générer l’exploitation de ressources naturelles rares.     Dinh Q. Lê (Vietnam, États-Unis) Dinh Q. Lê est détenteur d’un […]

Britta Marakatt-Labba

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Les broderies méticuleuses de Britta Marakatt-Labba renvoient aux conceptions du monde dans la tradition autochtone Sámi. Leurs déploiements horizontaux permettent d’imaginer les espaces grandioses du territoire scandinave.     Britta Marakatt-Labba (Sami, Suède) Britta Marakatt-Labba est née en 1951 à Idivuoma au nord de la […]

Meryl McMaster

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Meryl McMaster se met en scène devant l’appareil photographique pour performer le territoire et ses ancrages historiques en incarnant des personnages allégoriques librement inspirés de l’imaginaire autochtone.   © Meryl McMaster, Dream Catcher, 2015   Meryl McMaster (Siksika, Ontario) Meryl McMaster (née en 1988) est […]

Fanny Mesnard

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   L’univers visuel de Fanny Mesnard est peuplé de personnages hybrides évocateurs des croyances animistes et des fabulations qui habitent et conditionnent les rapports humains à la nature.   Fanny Mesnard, Jeux de rôles, 2016   Fanny Mesnard (Québec, Québec) Fanny Mesnard est diplômée de l’Université […]

Haroon Mirza

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Les installations technologiques d’Haroon Mirza mettent à profit les sources d’énergie naturelles telles que l’électricité et la lumière pour refléter la complexité du monde actuel en symphonies multisensorielles.    Haroon Mirza, Solar Symphony 10 (Transverse Waves for Wayne), 2016   Haroon Mirza (Angleterre) Haroon Mirza, né […]

Cornelia Parker

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Cornelia Parker explore les résonances poétiques de la matière en voie de désintégration. Constituée de bois récupéré, l’installation sculpturale No Man’s Land est dynamisée par sa suspension dans l’espace.     Cornelia Parker (Angleterre) Née en Angleterre, dans le Cheshire, en 1956, Cornelia Parker détient […]

Reno Salvail

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Fasciné par la cartographie et l’astronomie, Reno Salvail oriente son rapport au monde en amalgamant le paysage naturel à ses mondes intérieurs. Plongez dans les profondeurs du ciel étoilé reflété dans la Rivière Cheval.     Reno Salvail (L’Ange-Gardien, Québec) Reno Salvail, né en 1947, […]

Tomás Saraceno

Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, pavillon Pierre Lassonde   Les installations sculpturales de Tomás Saraceno remettent le spectateur en perspective en le submergeant dans une vision vertigineuse de l’univers cosmique.     Tomás Saraceno (Argentine, Allemagne) Né en Argentine, à Tucumán, en 1973, Tomás Saraceno vit et travaille à Berlin. Il a fait des […]