Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago [2007]
Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago [2007]

Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago [2007]

Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios (Chili)

OCTOBER 2 TO OCTOBER 28 2007

Manif d’art and the La Bande Vidéo joined forces to co-produce the presentation of four Québec artists at the 8th edition of the Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago in Chili from October 2 to 28, 2007. Curated by Claude Bélanger, the Québec delegation benefited from creation residencies, subsequently presenting their work along with 20 international artists at the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo for the duration of the South American biennial. The presentation follows exchanges that previously took place between Manif d’art and Chilean organizations during Manif d’art 2 (2003) and the Semana Francófona in Chile (2004), and in the recent presentation of Digital Chile_07 in Québec City.

PANIQUE AU VILLAGE, 2007
Martin Bureau
Installation vidéo

In the artist’s friendly, picturesque village of 847 inhabitants, a recent threat has been perceived. Daily life camouflages fallacious dealings. People are wary. At the municipal centre, cameras survey community activities. Line dancing, the town council, funerals, Taï Chi and indoor pétanque are lures designed to spread anarchy more effectively throughout the countryside.

Painter and video artist Martin Bureau lives and works in Saint-Jean-de-l’île-d’Orléans. His work highlights contrasts designed to engage and criticize. He is particularly interested in notions of power, surveillance and control, particularly as exercised by the media.

L’ATELIER D’éCRITURE (LA CONFERENCIA DE SANTIAGO), 2007
Manon De Pauw
Installation vidéo

Silently gathered around a table, eight participants armed with paper and pencils become, for the occasion, an artistic micro-society led by the artist herself, who mandates them to create a collective piece in which writing is the central act.

Montréal artist Manon De Pauw uses audio and video to observe relationships between individuals and groups in special circumstances that she creates. For the duration of a shooting session, she creates micro-societies that are governed according to more or less strict rules, but where anything human can occur. Her enquiries are structured around gestures, physical and mental states, and sounds as well as by the materialities they induce.

CITéS, 2007
Jean-François Côté
Installation vidéo

The masses and projected shadows of city buildings; solitary nature as a shadow of itself; a wandering soul… An invisible city rises as a virtual reality absorbing what is real, including the spectator. The conflation of video image, object and screen.

Jean-François Côté examines various ways to inhabit the world, to move through it and in it while remaining critical of the myriad images modern society presents. He is presently terminating his Ph.D. in visual arts and art history in Québec City.

MARQUES D’USAGE, 2007
Murielle Dupuis Larose
Installation vidéo

Sometimes we want so much to grasp another person’s way of seeing that we want to get inside their head, as the saying goes. A series of interior portraits in which they eye acts as a window to the soul.

Québec artist Murielle Dupuis Larose privileges a site-specific approach in her work. In this project, she structures her enquiry around an attempt to enter into contact with another, to grasp the way someone else sees.

Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago [2007]
Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago [2007]

Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago [2007]

Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios (Chili)

DU 2 AU 28 OCTOBRE 2007

Dans le cadre d’une co-production, Manif d’art s’est associée à la Bande Vidéo pour présenter quatre artistes québécois à la 8e édition de la Bienal de Video y Nuevos Medios de Santiago Chile du 2 au 28 octobre 2007. Sous le commissariat de Claude Bélanger, la délégation québécoise a effectué une résidence de création en vidéo pour ensuite en présenter le résultat au Museo de Arte Contemporáneo pour toute la durée de la biennale sud-américaine aux côtés des œuvres d’une vingtaine d’artistes internationaux. Cette présentation faisait suite à des échanges précédemment réalisés entre Manif d’art et des organismes chiliens dans le cadre de Manif d’art 2 (2003) et la Semana Francofona au Chili (2004), ainsi qu’à la présentation récente de Digital Chile_07 à Québec.

PANIQUE AU VILLAGE, 2007
Martin Bureau
Installation vidéo

Dans son village de 847 habitants, paisible et convivial, accueillant et pittoresque, depuis peu gronde la menace. Le quotidien ambiant camoufle des tractations douteuses. Les esprits sont méfiants. Au centre municipal, les caméras surveillent les activités communautaires. La danse en ligne, le conseil municipal, les funérailles, le Taï Chi et la pétanque intérieure ne sont que des leurres afin de mieux semer l’anarchie dans nos campagnes !

Peintre et vidéaste, Martin Bureau vit et travaille à Saint-Jean-de-l’île-d’Orléans. Sa production s’articule autour de contrastes mis en scène avec une intention d’engagement et de critique. Il s’intéresse particulièrement aux notions de pouvoir, de surveillance et de contrôle, notamment ceux exercés par les médias.

L’ATELIER D’ÉCRITURE (LA CONFERENCIA DE SANTIAGO), 2007
Manon De Pauw
Installation vidéo

Réunis silencieusement autour d’une table, huit participants armés de papiers et de crayons deviennent, pour la cause une microsociété artistique dirigée, où le geste d’écriture devient central.

Dans une investigation audio et vidéo, l’artiste montréalaise Manon De Pauw observe les rapports entre l’individu et la collectivité dans le cadre de mises en situation particulières. Sa recherche s’articule autour de gestes et d’états mentaux et physiques, de sonorités et de matérialités induits par ceux-ci.

CITÉS, 2007
Jean-François Côté
Installation vidéo

Les masses et les ombres projetées de bâtiments de ville, la nature solitaire en ombre d’elle-même, un marcheur en déambulation; une cité invisible s’élabore entre une réalité virtuelle absorbant le réel, voir même le spectateur. Rencontre entre l’image vidéographique, l’objet et l’écran.

Jean-François Côté scrute diverses manières d’habiter le monde, de le parcourir et de s’y inscrire dans un rapport critique face à la multitude d’images présentes dans la société moderne. Il détient un doctorat en arts visuels et histoire de l’art de l’Université Laval à Québec.

MARQUES D’USAGE, 2007
Murielle Dupuis Larose
Installation vidéo

Il nous arrive parfois de vouloir si fortement saisir la manière de voir de l’autre, que nous voudrions, comme le dit l’expression courante, être dans sa tête. Série de portraits intérieurs où l’œil agit comme fenêtre de l’âme.

L’artiste québécoise Murielle Dupuis Larose présente une pratique artistique privilégiant une approche in situ. Dans le cadre de ce projet, elle articule son langage autour de la tentative de rentrer en relation avec l’autre.