Liverpool Biennial [2010]
Liverpool Biennial [2010]

Liverpool Biennial [2010]

Tactful rituals
SEPTEMBER 18 TO NOVEMBER 28, 2010

Quebecor exhibition presented As part of City States, Liverpool Biennial
Galerie Aghafar du Novas Contemporary Urban Center
41-51 Greenland Street, 3rd floor, Liverpool, Angleterre

Opening: Monday – Saturday : 11am – 6pm, Sunday : 11am – 4pm

In the context of City States, the pavilion of international exhibitions of the Liverpool Biennial, Manif d’art – the Québec City Biennial is presenting Tactful Rituals at the gallery Aghafar of the Novas Contemporary Urban Center from September 18 to November 28, 2010. Under the direction of Claude Bélanger and curator Sylvain Campeau, Tactful Rituals brings together nine Québec visual artists who use the body as an object for creation. Their multi-disciplinary proposals encompass an array of practices that testify to an artistic sensibility present in Québec City.

The British presentation of Tacful Rituals is part of a double-edition exchange between the Québec City and Liverpool biennials. The first segment of this year’s collaboration comprised the presentation of the Liverpudlian collective Jump Ship Rat at Manif d’art 5 in May 2010, while in 2008 Manif d’art presented Vue sur Québec as part of the Liverpool Biennial and the Liverpool Biennial presented Milk Float by Jump Ship Rat as part of Manif d’art 4.

Présentation de Tactful rituals

Annie Baillargeon
Martin Dufrasne / Carl Bouchard
Claudie Gagnon
Massimo Guerrera
Adad Hannah
Manon Labrecque
Catherine Sylvain
Julie Andrée T.

When faced with a simultaneously troubling and stimulating work of art, we can’t help but be emotionally struck. Our feelings and bodies are stirred, moved. We’re caught off balance in the here-now, connected with the artwork in a special way. However, something more than mere composure is impacting us in current contemporary art. Increasingly, current art works are operating rooms in which the artist’s body and actions have a meaning that the work both holds and expresses. The work is mobilized within actions, maneuvers and performances that make it be and without which it could not exist.

We have therefore united artists who, for the majority, work on two fronts, “plastic’ art and related actions.

Here, photographs (Bouchard/Dufrasne, Baillargeon), videos (Labrecque, Hannah), body-based sculptures (Sylvain), installations that may or may not be linked to performance (Julie Andrée T., Gagnon) and the traces of maneuver-based contacts (Guerrera) allow echoes of the body and its materiality to resonate. Whether through active prostheses (Labrecque), shaped and activated matter (Sylvain), actions catalysed through what’s left of them (Guerrera) or cloned and organized into icons (Baillargeon), the body, in these ceremonials, is brought to life and put forward, evoked and tried, projected toward other bodies and the signs that represent it.

The exhibition Tactful Rituals shares in the stance of City States, proposing a look at a special aesthetic, different from Montréal’s, which developed in Québec City and has radiated throughout the province. If the artists united here don’t all work in Québec City, they are nonetheless influenced by its slant. Because Québec City has been a forum for the exploration of context-based art that actively seeks viewer reaction, giving rise to more intrusive forms of performance: maneuvers, happenings, situational constructions or, as Guy Debord wrote, concrete constructions of life’s momentary ambiances, and their transformation into a superior positional quality. One cannot help but notice that if practices such as these are run of the mill in contemporary creation, the shared desire of several artists and collectives in Québec City to demonstrate a more intrusive or interactive attitude is motivated by the desire to infiltrate the urban fabric through concrete actions that become works of art.

– Sylvain Campeau, curator

Sylvain Campeau (Montréal, Québec) is an art critic, essayist and exhibition curator. His essay Chantiers de l’image will soon be published by Nota Bene. His reviews have appeared in Parchute, ETC Montréal (now ETC), C Magazine, Vie des arts, CV Photo (now Ciel Variable) and Spirale. His numerous essays have been published in artist monographs, exhibition catalogues and international periodicals (France, Spain). Since 1992, he has been responsible for thirty exhibitions presented in Canada and abroad. Currently, the group exhibition Péripéties is rotating through Montréal’s Maisons de la Culture and he will sign Captatio Oculi at Séquence in 2011.

THE ARTISTS

ANNIE BAILLARGEON
Orbite d’échanges optionnels, 2006
Série Anamorphoses systémiques
Ink jet print on paper
© Annie Baillargeon

Québec City resident Annie Baillargeon holds a visual arts degree from Université Laval. She is a member of the collective Les Fermières Obsédées, responsible for undisciplined performances and art manoeuvers since 2001. Her solo work, a hybridization of genres and media, incorporates photography, installation, video and performance. Her photographs of human bodies reduced to a tiny scale are digitally multiplied in interlacing compositions that resemble religious icons.

BOUCHARD ET DUFRASNE
Défense de cracher, 2007
Digital print
Photo : Paul Cimon © Carl Bouchard / Martin Dufrasne

While Carl Bouchard and Martin Dufrasne (Saguenay/Montréal, Québec) maintain individual practices, their relationship has given rise to a shared production that taps into their common concerns. Their work together addresses themes of identity, alterity, duality, power games, collectivity and commitment. By exploring various forms of coupling (brothers, lovers, twins, duelists, Siamese twins, enemies, etc.) and using themselves as models, they explore the dynamics that condition the relationships of two people linked to one another. Allying the axioms of performance (authenticity, risk and presence) to those of the theatre (poetic shifting), their installactions (gestures and actions in installation) are designed as trials to overcome or exploits to accomplish and are illustrated through concepts of rivalry, honour and the need for the other.

CLAUDIE GAGNON
Passe-moi le ciel, 1998
Coulor Videogram, 1/1
4 minutes loop, sond
Collection Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2009.87)
© Claudie Gagnon

Self-taught artist Claudie Gagnon lives and works in Issoudun (Québec). Since 1985, she has been gathering, matching, piling up, trading, accumulating and fooling around with stuff—common objects of daily life chosen for their kitsch value. Her work takes the form of tableau vivants that require a commitment on the part of the spectator, who might be asked to wander through labyrinth-like installations with unexpected stops, or sit down to a meal (many of her presentations take place in the context of “salons mondains’). Food has always been an important part of her creations; it has been thrown, served, eaten, left to rot, made into carpets and wallpaper. Claudie Gagnon’s work has been shown in Québec, Canada, France, Italy, China and Mexico.

MASSIMO GUERRERA
La réunion des pratiques, 2007
Installation
© Massimo Guerrera

Massimo Guerrera (Montréal, Québec) is the Québec pioneer of what is now called “relational aesthetics,’ an art in which contact with the other becomes more than just a subject for representation; it becomes the artwork’s very matter. Convinced that we are but the sum of those with whom we enter into relation, he often uses food as a metaphor for continual transformation and the incorporation of others.

ADAD ANNAH
Dinner Date, 2007-2010
Video
© Adad Hannah

Adad Hannah (Montréal, Québec) holds a BFA from Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design and an MFA from Concordia University. In his video series Stills, undoubtedly his most important and revealing corpus, he composed videos in which actors were told to stay still. The result is an uneasy and uneven state of suspension in which the protagonists unexpectedly oscillate and vibrate, revealing the deception of the cinematic pseudo trope.

MANON LABRECQUE
Cri, 2010
Video
© Manon Labrecque

Manon Labrecque (Montréal, Québec) trained in contemporary dance and visual arts. Recognized today as one of the most important video artists in Québec and Canada, her work relies on electronic apparatus to express a recurring concern: the body and the mechanics of movement. Her practice incorporates looped gestures, actions and sounds along with machines and animated objects, exploring the cyclical aspect of our existence, which is linked to the body and its common gestures.

CATHERINE SYLVAIN
Femme-Chien, 2003
Performance sculpture
© Catherine Sylvain

Québec City native Catherine Sylvain lives in Montréal, where she earned an MFA from Concordia University. She explores notions of identity and the gap between appearing and being in a practice characterized by performance sculpture, urban interventions and installation. She uses sculpture as a tool to contextualize the human body, questioning how we appropriate space in and around us to inscribe our identity. The result is sculpture that espouses the body’s contours and jutting members, spaces for the immediate tactile experience of matter; extensions of the body that invite interaction, habitation and, occasionally, a pure and simple caress.

JULIE ANDRéE T.
Falling from the sky, 2010
Performance
Photo : Nelim © Julie Andrée T.

With body and space at the heart of her research, Julie Andrée T. (Sagard, Québec) works in installation and performance. Between the poetic and the mundane, her work proposes abstract but recognizable zones in which to invest various fields of cultural and existential interrogation. Her installations represent either traces of her unrestrained passage through space (displaced objects, maculae, wear or disrepair, various assemblages, etc.) or experimental setups that draw the viewer into various contexts of stimulation. In her performances, she puts her body and the audience’s complacency to the test in outrageous actions bordering excess.

Liverpool Biennial [2010]
Liverpool Biennial [2010]

Liverpool Biennial [2010]

Tactful rituals
DU 18 SEPTEMBRE AU 28 NOVEMBRE 2010

Exposition québécoise présentée dans le volet City States de la Liverpool Biennial
Galerie Aghafar du Novas Contemporary Urban Center
41-51 Greenland Street, 3e étage, Liverpool, Angleterre

Heures d’ouvertures : Lundi au Samedi de 11 h à 18 h, Dimanche de 11 h à 16 h

Vernissage : 17 septembre, de 12 h à 15 h

Dans le cadre de City States, le pavillon d’expositions internationales de la Liverpool Biennial, Manif d’art – la biennale de Québec présente l’exposition Tactful Rituals du 18 septembre au 28 novembre 2010 à la galerie Aghafar du Novas Contemporary Urban Center. Sous la direction de Claude Bélanger et le commissariat de Sylvain Campeau, l’exposition regroupe 9 artistes en arts visuels du Québec qui utilisent le corps comme objet de création. Les propositions, de disciplines multiples, abordent un éventail de pratiques qui témoignent d’un caractère artistique présent dans le milieu de Québec.

La présentation de Tacful Rituals en sol britannique relève d’un échange inter biennales entre la biennale de Québec et celle de Liverpool. Le premier volet de cet échange avait mené à la présentation du collectif d’artistes liverpuldien Jump Ship Rat lors de la 5e édition de Manif d’art en mai 2010 à Québec. Les deux biennales en sont à leur deuxième collaboration de ce genre (en 2008, Manif d’art avait présenté l’exposition Vue sur Québec pendant l’événement britannique et celui-ci avait présenté l’œuvre Milk Float pendant Manif d’art 4).

Présentation de Tactful rituals

Annie Baillargeon
Martin Dufrasne / Carl Bouchard
Claudie Gagnon
Massimo Guerrera
Adad Hannah
Manon Labrecque
Catherine Sylvain
Julie Andrée T.

On est immanquablement, devant une œuvre dérangeante et stimulante tout à la fois, mis en demeure et en mode de réaction affective. On est remué, mis en motion au niveau des sentiments comme à celui de la raison ou même dans notre corps; directement ébranlé dans notre seule présence physique, mis en demeure dans notre être-là. Tout cela ressort du contact particulier que nous créons avec l’œuvre. Mais il y a plus maintenant, dans l’art actuel, que la simple placidité des œuvres pour nous rejoindre. Elles sont de plus en plus de véritables théâtres d’opérations où le corps et l’action de l’artiste ont eux-mêmes un sens dont l’œuvre est à la fois l’expression et le dépositaire. L’œuvre apparaît mobilisée au sein d’actions, manœuvres et performances qui la font être et sans lesquels elle ne saurait exister.

Ici, images photographiques (Bouchard/Dufrasne, Baillargeon), œuvres vidéographiques (Labrecque, Hannah), sculptures issues du corps (Sylvain), installations en lien ou non avec une activité de performance (Julie Andrée T., Gagnon), restes de contacts manœuvriers (Guerrera), s’uniront pour tous en revenir à des échos du corps et de sa matérialité. Que ce soit touché par la vue et ses prothèses actives (Labrecque), par la matière par lui mise en forme et en mouvement (Sylvain), catalyseur d’actions dont objets et traces sont le passage obligé (Guerrera), cloné au centuple et organisé en icône (Baillargeon), le corps sera animé et mis en contact, évoqué et mis à l’épreuve dans ces cérémonials, élans vers les autres et vers les signes que le rendent présent.

L’exposition Tactful Rituals s’inscrit dans l’optique de City States, proposant un regard sur l’esthétique particulière, différente de celle de Montréal, par exemple, mais irradiant sur le reste de la province de Québec, qui s’est développée dans la ville de Québec. Si les artistes ici réunis n’y travaillent pas tous, ils sont, côté influence esthétique, au diapason de l’esprit de cette ville. Car celle-ci a en effet été le théâtre de questionnements concernant un art de contexte, interpellant plus directement le public, résultant en une exploration marquée pour des formes de performance plus intrusives: manœuvres, happenings, constructions de situations ou encore, comme l’écrit Guy Debord constructions concrète d’ambiances momentanées de la vie, et leur transformation en une qualité positionnelle supérieure. Force est de constater que même si de telles pratiques sont monnaie courante dans les créations contemporaines, la volonté partagée par plusieurs artistes et collectifs de Québec d’afficher une attitude plus intrusive ou interactive, est motivée par le désir de s’inscrire dans le tissu urbain par des actions concrètes qui font œuvres.

– Sylvain Campeau, commissaire

Sylvain Campeau est poète, critique d’art, essayiste et commissaire d’exposition. Il a publié 5 recueils de poésie, un essai sur la photographie (Chambres obscures. Photographie et installation) et une anthologie de poètes québécois (Les Exotiques, Herbes rouges, 2003.. Son essai Chantiers de l’image sera publié sous peu aux éditions Nota Bene.

En qualité de critique d’art, il a collaboré à Parachute, ETC Montréal (devenu ETC), C Magazine, Vie des arts, CV Photo (devenu Ciel Variable), Spirale. à ce titre et à celui d’essayiste, il est l’auteur de nombreux textes parus dans des monographies d’artiste, des catalogues d’expositions et des revues étrangères (France, Espagne). De concert avec ces activités, il est en plus commissaire indépendant d’exposition. Depuis 1992, il a ainsi été l’instigateur et le maître d’œuvre de quelque 30 expositions présentées tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. L’exposition collective Péripéties est actuellement en tournée dans les Maisons de la Culture de Montréal et il présentera Captatio Oculi à Séquence en 2011.

LES ARTISTES

ANNIE BAILLARGEON
Orbite d’échanges optionnels, 2006
Série Anamorphoses systémiques
Impression jet d’encre sur papier
© Annie Baillargeon

Annie Baillargeon est une artiste qui vit et travaille à Québec. Son travail en solo englobe, la photographie, l’installation, la vidéo et la performance. Elle fait également partie du collectif Les Fermières Obsédées dont les performances et les manœuvres insufflent depuis 2001 une indiscipline au genre de l’art action. Utilisant le corps humain en tant que motif, elle le réduit à une échelle infiniment petite.

BOUCHARD ET DUFRASNE
Défense de cracher, 2007
épreuve numérique
Photo : Paul Cimon © Carl Bouchard / Martin Dufrasne

Le travail de Carl Bouchard / Martin Dufrasne aborde les thèmes de l’identité, de l’altérité, de la dualité des jeux de pouvoir, ainsi que les notions de collectivité et d’engagement. Par l’exploration de diverses formes de couplages (frères, amants, jumeaux, duellistes, siamois, ennemis, etc.) où ils se mettent eux-mêmes en scène, ces artistes explorent les dynamiques que conditionne la relation entre deux personnes liées l’une à l’autre. Leurs « installactions » (gestes et actions en installation) sont conçues comme des épreuves.

CLAUDIE GAGNON
Passe-moi le ciel, 1998
Vidéogramme couleur, 1/1
4 minutes en boucle, sonore
Collection Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2009.87)
© Claudie Gagnon

Claudie Gagnon vit et travaille à Issoudun. Elle est autodidacte et s’occupe, depuis 1985, à ramasser, assortir, empiler, trafiquer, accumuler et manigancer des machins, trucs et babioles, animée par les choses du quotidien. Son travail se présente soit sous forme d’installations, soit de tableaux vivants. La nourriture a toujours pris une place importante dans ses créations, elle en a lancé, fait manger, laissé pourrir, fait des tapis et du papier peint. Son travail a été présenté au Québec, au Canada, en France, en Italie, en Chine et au Mexique.

MASSIMO GUERRERA
La réunion des pratiques, 2007
Installation
© Massimo Guerrera

Au Québec, Massimo Guerrera est le pionnier de ce qu’on appelle désormais l’«esthétique relationnelle», c’est-à-dire d’un art où la rencontre avec l’autre devient, plus qu’un simple sujet à représenter, un véritable matériau à mettre en œuvre. Il utilise l’alimentation comme métaphore principale pour mettre en forme cette idée de transformation continuelle et d’ingestion des autres.

ADAD ANNAH
Dinner Date, 2007-2010
Vidéo
© Adad Hannah

Adad Hannah est né à New York. Il a grandit entre les villes d’Israël, London et Vancouver. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts du Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design et d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia. L’artiste est surtout connu pour ses vidéos enregistrées telles des tableaux vivants afin de saper l’image photographique.

MANON LABRECQUE
Cri, 2010
Vidéo
© Manon Labrecque

Manon Labrecque a une formation en danse contemporaine et en arts visuels. Au cœur de la démarche de cette artiste, aujourd’hui reconnue comme l’une des plus importantes représentantes de l’art vidéo au Québec et au Canada, les systèmes distincts du corps, de la machine et des procédés vidéo se rejoignent dans l’expression d’une préoccupation récurrente : le mouvement et ses mécanismes. La pratique de Manon Labrecque est liée à des gestes, des actions et des sons qui jouent en boucles; elle s’appuie également sur des machines et des objets qui s’activent, tournoient et s’emballent parfois.

CATHERINE SYLVAIN
Femme-Chien, 2003
Sculpture performative
© Catherine Sylvain

Catherine Sylvain est originaire de Québec, et vit à Montréal. Par une pratique axée sur la sculpture performative, les interventions urbaines et l’installation, elle explore les notions d’identité et d’écart entre être et paraître. Elle utilise la sculpture comme outil servant à mettre en contexte le corps humain afin d’engendrer un questionnement sur notre manière de nous approprier l’espace autour de nous et en nous, et d’y inscrire notre identité. Elle crée ainsi des objets qui sont des étendues et des extensions corporelles.

JULIE ANDRéE T.
Falling from the sky, 2010
Performance
Photo : Nelim © Julie Andrée T.

Situant le corps et l’espace au cœur de sa recherche, Julie Andrée T. se manifeste en installation et en performance. Entre le poétique et le quotidien, son travail propose des zones communes abstraites, mais reconnaissables. Son œuvre possède la vigueur d’une carrière encore jeune et l’expérience que prodigue un esprit et un corps qui n’ont pas froid aux yeux. Ses installations représentent soit des traces de son passage insistant et débridé dans l’espace soit des dispositifs expérientiels permettant aux sujets – les visiteurs de l’exposition – de se prêter à divers contextes stimulants.