Semana Francófona, Chili [2004]
Semana Francófona, Chili [2004]

Semana Francófona, Chili [2004]

Semana Francófona (Chili)

In 2004, Manif d’art, in collaboration with LA CHAMBRE BLANCHE, presented a program of Canadian video in the context of the Semana Francófona in Chili. The video program was part of cultural activities presented from March 15 to 21, 2004 in several Chilean cities. Under the theme of the city, the many countries that participated celebrated the international francophone community and its values through a variety of means. For its part, Manif d’art and LA CHAMBRE BLANCHE presented a video program of work by nine creators at Centro Arte Alameda in Santiago, Chili on March 17, 2004 and the Intendance Régionale in Valparaiso, Chili on March 18, 2004.

  • Rumeurs ( Groupe Kiwistiti, Quebec, Canada, ONF prod., 2003, 6 min. 30 )
  • 12 Hours ( Rachel Echenberg, Quebec, Canada, 2001, 7 min. 48 )
  • 7,163 mètres ( Paul Landon, Quebec, Canada, 1998, 2 min. 20 )
  • Citérieur ( Boris Firquet, Quebec, Canada, 2003, 14 min. 36 )
  • Le Temps qui détruit tout ( Patricia Pelletier et Marie-Claude Hébert, Quebec, Canada, 2002, 3 min. 30 )
  • Barricades ( Istvan Kantor, Ontario, Canada, 1992, 11 min. )
  • Démocratie ( Sébastien Pesot, Quebec, Canada, 2002, 5 min. 30 )
  • Duberrrger ( Nicholas Bolduc, Quebec, Canada, 2001, 4 min. 09 )
  • World Trade Opera ( Alain Pelletier, Quebec, Canada, 2003, 29 min. 30 )

[ …The city. A real entity that we can analyze, study and criticize. Or simply live, like several among us. The city is built, and demolished. It is difficult to immobilize. It is made for moving, circulating, walking, advancing. At the risk of turning in circles and running out of breath. To stop and take its pulse is the role of artists. It lasts 12 hours, the time of an almost extreme performance. The city: we talk about it ; address it through poetry because we love it ; but also because it can be hard. Apparently, we rarely see its bright side. We live in it, but too often on the run, between demonstration, repression and war. Does peace live on the periphery, a few steps from the brouhaha, in suburban calm ? ]

 

PROGRAMMATION
Put together by Claude Bélanger, Jean Mailloux and François Vallée.
Total Lenght : 1 h 25 min.

RUMEURS
Groupe Kiwistiti, Québec, Canada, prod. ONF, 2003, 6 min. 30

Summer in a tourist town: a man is found lying on the street. A crowd forms around him. What happened ? Everyone reacts in a personal way, but no one thinks of helping him. Big cities reflected in a feverish and colourful social satire.

“Kiwistiti’ ? Sounds like the cross between a kiwi and a ouistiti. In fact, it is a Québec City collective founded in 1998 by four versatile young artists active in the production and creation of animated films. Francis Desharnais is a draftsman and graphic artist; Annie Frenette is a producer, assistant director and colourist; Frédéric Lebrasseur and Philippe Venne are soundscape musicians. True jacks-of-all-trades, they participate in every stage of creation. Their combined talents result in the surprising chemistry known as Kiwistiti.

12 HOURS
Rachel Echenberg, Québec, Canada, 2001, 7 min. 48

A woman walks down the street on a cold winter morning. Suddenly, she stops and remains immobile for the rest of the day. The world bustles around her—passers-by and cars. Some stop, including the police. Eyes closed, she is imperturbable. Her immobility is grasped from the passing of the day : 12 hours of action, and non-action.

Rachel Echenberg is a performance and multidisciplinary artist whose work explores the relationship between private and public space. Although active in the collective Performance Play Group, she has also participated in artist residencies and workshops in Québec and the United States. Since 1992, her performances and videos have been presented at exhibitions, symposiums and art festivals throughout Canada as well as in Switzerland, France, Poland, Italy, Spain and Japan.

7,163 MÈTRES
Paul Landon, Québec, Canada, 1998, 2 min. 20

“This video represents my participation in the collaborative project entitled Lettres vidéos, set up between Vidéographe in Montréal and ACJ in Brussels. 7,163 mètres was a response to a video letter from Arno Monck of Brussels. The video is composed of a series of panoramic and still views as seen from my studio, starting with a shot of a window showing us the rooftops of Montréal. The title refers to the distance between my desk and the window.’ Paul Landon

Paul Landon was born in England in 1961. He completed a graduate degree in visual art from the Jan van Eyck Academy in the Netherlands and holds a master’s degree in Media Studies from Concordia University in Montréal, where he lives. His articles and essays on contemporary art and media art have been published in catalogues and in magazines such as Parachute and ETC Montréal. Since 1984, he has devoted himself to experimental video and since 1988, to sound and video installations. For several years, his work has addressed the idea of landscape as a social and psychological construction and has been presented around the world. Paul Landon teaches video and installation at the school of visual and media arts of Université du Québec à Montréal.

CITÉRIEUR
Boris Firquet, Québec, Canada, 2003, 14 min. 36

Armchairs spiral in an architectural space reconstructed by the artist, in which furniture becomes rooms. Urban spaces decompose in the fog of winter torpor. The madman watches us, a TV remote in his head and the world at his feet. Shut up in an asylum, high on his balcony, he sees us flaked out in front of our domestic screens. A cry of Justice from the shut-in city of his own interior. Violence is deaf but destroys the children who weep the mystery that is killing them.

Boris Firquet is a video artist, editor, cameraman, VJ, computer graphist and multimedia creator. He has been interested in experimental video since 1988 and in live video on stage since 1996. His work has been shown internationally. Involved in artist-run centres, he practices live video with improvising electronic musicians. He has also collaborated with several artists and centres in Québec City as an artist, creator and consultant for productions in video, the Internet, CD-ROM, audio-art, multidisciplinary theatre, performances and interactive media installations. He considers himself to be self-taught despite forays into institutions offering programs in visual arts, photography, video and multimedia.

LE TEMPS QUI DÉTRUIT TOUT
Patricia Pelletier et Marie-Claude Hébert, Québec, Canada, 2002, 3 min.30

The psychological delirium of a young woman evoking strange lunatic memories.

Patricia Pelletier and Marie-Claude Hébert each hold a graduate degree in art from Université Laval. Together, they created the video Thëmepeau, which won the 2001 jury award in the experimental category of the competition Vidéaste recherché•e (Québec). Their joint work has been presented at several festivals in Canada and abroad, particularly at the Festival du Cinéma francophone in Acadia (New Brunswick); Instants vidéo de Manosque (France); the Tokyo Video Festival (Japon) and Colima (Mexico) in the context of a retrospective program of Vidéaste recherché•e.

BARRICADES
Istvan Kantor, Ontario, Canada, 1992, 11 min.

On June 3, 1991, the NYPD encircled the legendary Tompkins Square Park in the Lower East Side, expulsing the homeless and their sympathizers and surrounding the park with a barricade. The artist added computer-generated animations and acoustic performances to images of the barricade in order to condemn the absurdity of contemporary societies. For Istvan Kantor, this sinister episode of urban life is seen as an indication of an approaching apocalypse.

Istvan Kantor, alias Amen, alias Monty Cantsin, is the founder of Neoism. He works in several creative fields: concerts, robotics, installation, sound, music and new media. In addition to presenting his work at many international festivals, Kantor participated in Video Sonority at the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa) and at the Cent jours d’art contemporain in Montréal in 1993. His work was also presented at the Centre Pompidou in Paris in 1989 and at Documenta 8 in Kassel in 1987. In November 2002, Pleasure Dome presented a retrospective of his video and performance work in Toronto. His favoured subjects are the decline of technology and the individual’s struggle against a society dominated by technology. Kantor has lived in Budapest, Paris, Montréal and New York. He currently lives in Toronto.

DÉMOCRATIE
Sébastien Pesot, Québec, Canada, 2002, 5 min. 30

An experimental video, a testimony to the repression engendered by economic globalization and its repercussions on democracy. Filmed in Québec City at the Summit of the Americas in April 2001.

Sébastien Pesot is a founding member of Perte de Signal, whose board he chairs. In 1996, he earned an undergraduate degree in art history from Université de Montréal and in 1999, a graduate degree in visual and media arts from Université du Québec à Montréal. His latest work has been shown in twenty countries in a hundred festivals and events, including the Tampere International Short Film Festival (Finland), the Wro 01 and Wro 03 media art biennials (Poland) and Chroma (Mexico), where he received the people’s choice award for best video. His work proposes an altered electronic universe where reality is represented through visual metaphors.

DUBERRRGER
Nicholas Bolduc, Québec, Canada, 2001, 4 min. 09

Second suburb in a probable series of four.

Nicolas Bolduc has been technical director at La Bande Vidéo since 1999. He has also been a production director for several cultural events or shows such as the competition Vidéaste recherché•e, the Ligue Nationale d’Improvisation Musicale de Québec, Manif d’art 2, and tours of Mononc’Serge and Fred Fortin. He created four video monobands that have been shown in Québec, Canada and abroad.

WORLD TRADE OPERA
Alain Pelletier, Québec, Canada, 2003, 29 min. 30

8 minutes 50 seconds. We have emitted 375,000 tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Trees have 171,000 tons of oxygen. This road film exposes the state of the world through a chronology of planetary processes. A multilingual work, the author explores the expressive possibilities of digital tools to produce a sight and sound incantation that hangs between global perspectives and micro-perceptions; between the communication of meaning and incomprehensible saturation.

Alain Pelletier is a multidisciplinary artist. He has been remarked as an actor in the United Kingdom. He has danced in Japan under the direction Min Tanaka. As a visual artist, he has twice exhibited at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. His work, shown at many international festivals, has received several awards: the CICV award for Faux fluids at the Manifestation International Video et Art électronique (Montréal, 1993); the best short feature award for Faust Médusé at the Rendez-vous du cinéma québécois (1995); the best short feature award at the FCMM in Montréal; the Prix Vidéoformes at the festival Vidéoformes; the best animation award at the Reeling Film Festival in Chicago, and the jury’s special mention for Die Dyer at the VideoArt Festival in Locarno (1999). Alain Pelletier lives and works in Montréal.

We would like to thank the artists, the Canadian Embassy, the Ministère des Relations internationales (Québec), ArTeK, the National Film Board of Canada, Vidéographe, Perte de Signal and La Bande Vidéo.

Semana Francófona, Chili [2004]
Semana Francófona, Chili [2004]

Semana Francófona, Chili [2004]

Semana Francófona (Chili)
DU 15 AU 21 MARS 2004

En 2004, Manif d’art de Québec présentait, en collaboration avec la Chambre blanche, une programmation canadiennne de vidéo dans le cadre de Semana Francófona au Chili. La programmation vidéo s’inscrivait dans la liste des activités culturelles présentées dans plusieurs villes du Chili durant l’événement, du 15 au 21 mars 2004. Célébrant la francophonie internationale et ses valeurs, une multitude de pays participaient à l’événement sous diverses formes en exploitant le thème de la ville. Pour sa part, le regroupement canadien présentait, au Centro Arte Alameda à Santiago au Chili le 17 mars 2004 et à l’Intendance regionale de Valparaiso au Chili le 18 mars 2004, une programmation vidéo proposant des œuvres vidéographiques de 9 créateurs du pays ;

  • Rumeurs ( Groupe Kiwistiti, Québec, Canada, prod. ONF, 2003, 6 min. 30 )
  • 12 Hours ( Rachel Echenberg, Québec, Canada, 2001, 7 min. 48 )
  • 7,163 mètres ( Paul Landon, Québec, Canada, 1998, 2 min. 20 )
  • Citérieur ( Boris Firquet, Québec, Canada, 2003, 14 min. 36 )
  • Le Temps qui détruit tout ( Patricia Pelletier et Marie-Claude Hébert, Québec, Canada, 2002, 3 min. 30 )
  • Barricades ( Istvan Kantor, Ontario, Canada, 1992, 11 min. )
  • Démocratie ( Sébastien Pesot, Québec, Canada, 2002, 5 min. 30 )
  • Duberrrger ( Nicholas Bolduc, Québec, Canada, 2001, 4 min. 09 )
  • World Trade Opera ( Alain Pelletier, Québec, Canada, 2003, 29 min. 30 )

[ …La ville. Une entité bien réelle qu’on peut analyser, étudier et critiquer. Ou vivre, tout simplement, comme plusieurs d’entre nous. La ville, ça se construit, ça se déconstruit. Bien difficile de s’immobiliser. Il faut bouger, circuler, marcher, aller de l’avant. Quitte à tourner en rond et s’essouffler. S’arrêter, en prendre le pouls, c’est notamment le rôle des artistes. ça dure alors 12 heures, le temps d’une performance presque extrême. La ville, on en parle beaucoup, on l’aborde par la poésie parce qu’on l’aime, mais aussi parce qu’elle peut être dure. Apparemment, on y voit rarement la vie en rose. On y vit, mais trop souvent à la course, entre manifestation, répression et guerre. La paix résiderait-elle en périphérie, à quelques pas du brouhaha, dans le calme de la banlieue ? ]

 

PROGRAMMATION
Une réalisation de Claude Bélanger, Jean Mailloux et François Vallée.
Durée totale : 1 h 25 min.

RUMEURS
Groupe Kiwistiti, Québec, Canada, prod. ONF, 2003, 6 min. 30

L’été dans une ville touristique, un homme est retrouvé gisant sur le sol. Un attroupement se forme autour de lui. Que lui est-il arrivé ? Chacun réagit à sa manière, mais personne ne songe une seconde à le secourir. Une satire sociale bouillonnante et colorée, à l’image des grandes villes.

« Kiwistiti » ? Voilà qui sonne comme le résultat d’un croisement entre un kiwi et un ouistiti. Dans les faits, il s’agit d’un collectif actif dans la production et la réalisation de film d’animation, fondé à Québec en 1998 par quatre jeunes artistes polyvalents. Francis Desharnais est dessinateur et graphiste, Annie Frenette est directrice de production, assistante à la réalisation et coloriste, Frédéric Lebrasseur et Philippe Venne sont musiciens et élaborent l’univers sonore. Véritables touche-à-tout, ils participent à toutes les étapes de création. Leurs talents s’additionnent, et se produit alors une étonnante chimie qui porte le nom de Kiwistiti.

12 HOURS
Rachel Echenberg, Québec, Canada, 2001, 7 min. 48

Une femme déambule dans la rue un matin froid d’hiver. Elle s’arrête soudainement et demeure immobile le reste de la journée. Le monde s’agite autour d’elle, des passants et des voitures défilent, certains s’arrêtent, y compris la police. Les yeux fermés, sa présence est imperturbable. On saisit son immobilité grâce au passage de la journée, 12 heures d’action / non-action.

Rachel Echenberg est une artiste de la performance et de l’art multidisciplinaire dont le travail explore la relation de l’intimité et les espaces publics. Elle a participé à des résidences d’artistes ainsi qu’à des ateliers au Québec et aux états-Unis tout en demeurant active au sein du collectif de la Performance Play Group. Depuis 1992, ses performances et oeuvres vidéo ont été présentées lors d’expositions, de symposiums et de festivals d’art à travers le Canada, la Suisse, la France, la Pologne, l’Italie, l’Espagne et le Japon.

7,163 MÈTRES
Paul Landon, Québec, Canada, 1998, 2 min. 20

« Cette vidéo constituait ma participation au projet de collaboration intitulé Lettres vidéos entre le Vidéographe à Montréal et ACJ à Bruxelles. 7,163 mètres répondait à une lettre vidéo d’Arno Monck, de Bruxelles. La vidéo est composée d’une série de panoramiques avec arrêts sur image tournés dans mon atelier, commençant avec un plan sur la fenêtre d’où l’on aperçoit les toits de Montréal. Le titre renvoie à la distance entre mon bureau et la fenêtre.» Paul Landon

Paul Landon est né en Angleterre en 1961. Il a complété un programme de deuxième cycle en arts plastiques à l’Académie Jan van Eyck aux Pays-Bas et détient une maîtrise en études médiatiques de l’Université Concordia à Montréal, où il vit depuis. Ses articles et essais sur l’art contemporain et les arts médiatiques ont été publiés dans des catalogues et des revues tel que Parachute et ETC Montréal. Il se consacre depuis 1984 à une production de bandes vidéographiques expérimentales et, depuis 1988, à des installations sonores et vidéo. Le travail de Landon, qui porte depuis quelques années sur l’idée du paysage comme construction sociale et psychologique, a été présenté à travers le monde. Paul Landon enseigne la vidéo et l’installation à l’école des arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal.

CITÉRIEUR
Boris Firquet, Québec, Canada, 2003, 14 min. 36

Des fauteuils tournoient dans l’espace architectural recomposé par l’artiste, où les mobiliers deviennent immobiliers. Des espaces urbains se décomposent dans le brouillard de l’ennui hivernal. Le fou nous regarde, la télécommande est dans son cerveau et le monde est à ses pieds. Enfermé dans l’asile, du haut de son balcon, il nous observe « afessouillés » devant nos écrans domestiques. Un cri dit Justice, dans la cité enfermée en son propre intérieur. La violence est sourde mais détruit les enfants qui pleurent le mystère qui les tue.

Boris Firquet est un vidéaste réalisateur, monteur, caméraman, VJ, infographiste et concepteur multimédia. Il s’intéresse de près à la vidéo expérimentale depuis 1988 et surtout à la vidéo en direct sur scène depuis 1996. Son travail est diffusé internationalement. Impliqué dans le milieu des centres d’artistes, il pratique la video-live avec des musiciens électroniques improvisateurs. Il a aussi collaboré avec plusieurs artistes et centres à Québec comme artiste, concepteur, et consultant pour des productions vidéographiques, Web, CD-ROM, audio-art ainsi que du théâtre multidisciplinaire, des performances et installations médiatiques interactives. Il se considère autodidacte malgré quelques séjours institutionnels, dans des programmes d’arts plastiques, photographie, vidéo et multimédia.

LE TEMPS QUI DÉTRUIT TOUT
Patricia Pelletier et Marie-Claude Hébert, Québec, Canada, 2002, 3 min.30

Délire psychologique d’une jeune femme par l’évocation lunatique d’étranges souvenirs.

Patricia Pelletier et Marie-Claude Hébert détiennent toutes deux une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université Laval. Ensemble, elles ont réalisé la vidéo Thêmepeau qui a remporté en 2001 le Prix du Jury ( catégorie expérimentale ) au concours Vidéaste recherché(e) ( Québec ). Leurs œuvres communes ont été présentées dans plusieurs festivals d’ici et à l’étranger, notamment au Festival du Cinéma francophone en Acadie ( Nouveau-Brunswik ), aux Instants vidéo de Manosque ( France ), au Tokyo Video Festival ( Japon ) et à Colima ( Mexique ), dans le cadre d’une programmation rétrospective du festival Vidéaste recherché(e).

BARRICADES
Istvan Kantor, Ontario, Canada, 1992, 11 min.

Le 3 juin 1991, la police de New York encercle le légendaire Tompkins Square Park dans le Lower East Side, en expulse tous les sans-abris et leurs sympathisants, puis entoure le parc d’une barricade. Le vidéaste ajoute aux images de la barricade des textes, des animations par ordinateur et des performances acoustiques afin de condamner l’absurdité des lois des sociétés contemporaines. Ce sinistre épisode de la vie urbaine apparaît, pour Istvan Kantor, comme un indice significatif de l’approche d’une apocalypse.

Istvan Kantor, alias Amen, alias Monty Cantsin, est le fondateur du néoisme. Il œuvre dans plusieurs champs créatifs : le spectacle, la robotique, l’installation, le son, la musique et les nouveaux médias. En plus d’avoir présenté ses œuvres dans une multitude de festivals internationaux, Kantor a participé à l’exposition Vidéo / Sonorité au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada ( Ottawa ) et aux Cent jours d’art contemporain de Montréal en 1993. Son travail a également été présenté au Centre Pompidou de Paris en 1989 et à la Documenta & à Kassel en 1987. En novembre 2002, Pleasure Dome présentait à Toronto une rétrospective de son œuvre vidéo et performatif. Ses sujets de prédilection sont le déclin de la technologie et la lutte de l’individu contre la société dominée par la technologie. Kantor a vécu à Budapest, Paris, Montréal et New York. Il habite actuellement à Toronto.

DÉMOCRATIE
Sébastien Pesot, Québec, Canada, 2002, 5 min. 30

Vidéo expérimentale, témoin de la répression engendrée par la mondialisation économique et ses répercussions sur la démocratie. Images filmées à Québec, lors du Sommet des Amériques, en avril 2001.

Sébastien Pesot, membre fondateur et président du conseil d’administration de Perte de Signal, a obtenu, en 1996, un baccalauréat en histoire de l’art à l’Université de Montréal et, en 1999, une maîtrise de l’école des arts visuels et médiatiques de Montréal ( UQAM ). On a pu voir ses dernières réalisations dans une vingtaine de pays, à l’intérieur d’une centaine de festivals et événements, tels le Tampere International Short Film Festival ( Finlande ), Wro 01 et 03, biennale d’arts médiatiques ( Pologne ) ou Chroma ( Mexique ) où il a reçu le prix du public pour la meilleure vidéo. Son travail vidéographique propose un univers électroniquement altéré où la représentation du réel s’inscrit au moyen de métaphores visuelles.

DUBERRRGER
Nicholas Bolduc, Québec, Canada, 2001, 4 min. 09

Deuxième banlieue d’une probable série de quatre.

Nicolas Bolduc est à la Bande vidéo depuis 1999 à titre de directeur technique. Il a également été directeur de production pour plusieurs événements ou spectacles culturels comme le concours Vidéaste recherché(e), la Ligue Nationale d’Improvisation Musicale de Québec, Manif d’art 2, et les tournées de Mononc’Serge et de Fred Fortin. Il a réalisé quatre monobandes qui furent présentées au Québec, au Canada et à l’étranger.

WORLD TRADE OPERA
Alain Pelletier, Québec, Canada, 2003, 29 min. 30

8 minutes 50 secondes. Nous avons rejeté 375,000 tonnes de dioxyde de carbone dans l’atmosphère. Les arbres ont produit 171,000 tonnes d’oxygène. Ce film-travelling expose l’état du monde à travers une chronologie en temps réel des processus planétaires. Œuvre multilingue, l’auteur explore les possibilités expressives des outils numériques pour produire une incantation visuelle et sonore tendue entre perspectives globales et microperceptions, entre communication du sens et saturation incompréhensible.

Alain Pelletier est un artiste multidisciplinaire. Il a été remarqué comme comédien au Royaume-Uni. Il a dansé au Japon sous la direction de Min Tanaka. En tant qu’artiste visuel, il a exposé à deux reprises au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. Ses œuvres, diffusées dans de nombreux festivals internationaux, ont reçu plusieurs récompenses ; le prix CICV à la Manifestation Arts électroniques de Montréal ( 1993 ) pour Faux fluides, le prix du meilleur court métrage des Rendez-vous du cinéma québécois ( 1995 ) pour Faust Médusé, le prix du meilleur court métrage du FCMM de Montréal, le prix Vidéoformes au festival Vidéoformes, le prix Best Animation au festival Reeling de Chicago et une mention spéciale du jury au festival VideoArt de Locarno ( 1999 ) pour Die Dyer. Alain Pelletier vit et travaille à Montréal.

Nous remercions les artistes, l’Ambassade du Canada, le Ministère des Relations internationales ( Québec ), ArTeK, l’Office national du film du Canada, Vidéographe, Perte de Signal et la Bande vidéo.