Foreword
Foreword

Foreword

We are proud to present this spring the biennial event Manif d’art 7, dedicated to disseminating and promoting contemporary visual and media art.

The theme Resistance – And Then, We Built New Forms, chosen by this year’s curator, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, is a burning topic today.

This theme explores, once again, several aspects of a social fact that shapes contemporary life, whether we like it or not. The event thus raises present-day issues that may upset us or make us think because they bring us face to face with our own values.

Under the supervision of General and Artistic Director Claude Bélanger, the curator for the 2014 event, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, has chosen artists from Quebec, the rest of Canada, the Americas and Europe, bringing them together to offer us a survey of different forms of artistic expression which address the theme from a variety of angles, in several cases in new works not previously seen elsewhere.

Manif d’art is pleased to be holding its seventh edition in Espace 400e Bell and has relied on the invaluable and loyal support of its collaborators to present several of the activities in its program. This seventh edition will thus take up residence in some thirty exhibition venues in Quebec City, Wendake and Lévis.

We would like to thank all those who responded to our invitation: artists, critics, thinkers and collaborators. Throughout its five-week program, Manif d’art will offer the public different points of view through a multitude of works of art, perceptions and idioms pertaining to more than 120 artists. Their participation contributes to the wealth and diversity of our public activities as a whole.
We would also like to thank the Manif d’art 7 team, which once again has carried out exceptional work, the members of the organisation’s board of directors, and our interns and generous volunteers. Thanks also to our public and private partners; their support is essential to the organisation and success of an event such as this.

On behalf of the board of directors and the Manif d’art team, we invite you to let yourself be swept up by the at times playful and at others critical artistic propositions on view at the various exhibition venues, as well as by the performances, public activities and public talks across Quebec City. We urge you to obtain our publication and to take the plunge into the world of contemporary art. Come and engage with the issues at our round tables, meet the artists and discuss with them the topics they explore.

We are certain that this vast research laboratory we have prepared will provide you with food for thought and topics to discuss. May it shine new light for you on the artistic, social, political and theoretical questions raised by Resistance – And Then, We Built New Forms.

Louis Masson
President

Claude Bélanger
General and Artistic Director

Avant-propos
Avant-propos

Avant-propos

Nous vous présentons fièrement ce printemps l’événement biennal Manif d’art 7, dédié à la diffusion et à la promotion des arts visuels et médiatiques actuels.

Le thème Résistance – Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes, choisi par notre commissaire de cette année, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, est brulant d’actualité.

Ce thème explore, encore une fois, plusieurs facettes d’un fait de société qui façonne notre vie contemporaine, qu’on le veuille ou non. Ainsi, l’événement soulève des enjeux actuels qui peuvent nous déranger ou nous faire réfléchir parce qu’ils nous confrontent à nos propres valeurs.

Sous la supervision du directeur général et artistique Claude Bélanger, la commissaire invitée de l’édition 2014, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, a choisi des artistes du Québec, du Canada, des Amériques et de l’Europe. Elle les a réunis pour nous offrir un panorama puisant dans différentes formes d’expression artistique et abordant la thématique sous divers angles, tout en incluant plusieurs œuvres inédites.

Heureuse de tenir sa septième édition dans l’Espace 400e Bell, Manif d’art compte sur l’appui de ses précieux et fidèles collaborateurs pour y présenter plusieurs des activités au programme. Cette septième édition s’installe ainsi dans une trentaine de lieux d’exposition à Québec, à Wendake et à Lévis.

Nous remercions tous ceux qui ont répondu à notre invitation : les artistes, les critiques, les penseurs et les collaborateurs. Tout au long des cinq semaines de programmation, Manif d’art 7 propose au public différents points de vue, grâce à une pluralité d’œuvres, de perceptions et de langages issus de plus de 120 artistes. Leur implication contribue à la richesse et à la diversité de l’ensemble des activités offertes au public.

Nous tenons également à remercier l’équipe de Manif d’art, qui a encore une fois réalisé un travail exceptionnel, les membres de son conseil d’administration ainsi que les stagiaires et généreux bénévoles. Merci aussi à nos partenaires privés et publics; leur appui est essentiel à la tenue et à la réussite d’un événement comme celui-ci.

Au nom du conseil d’administration et de l’équipe de Manif d’art, nous vous invitons à vous laisser séduire par les propositions artistiques au regard parfois ludique, parfois critique dans les différents lieux d’exposition, et par les performances, les actions publiques, les conférences à travers la ville de Québec. Nous vous incitons également à vous procurer notre publication et à vous initier au milieu de l’art actuel. Venez débattre lors de nos tables rondes, rencontrer les artistes et discuter avec eux des problématiques qu’ils abordent.

Nous avons la conviction que le vaste laboratoire de recherche que nous proposons alimentera vos réflexions, vos discussions. Qu’il vous apportera un éclairage différent sur les questions artistiques, sociales, politiques et théoriques soulevées par Résistance – Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes.

Me Louis Masson
Président

Claude Bélanger
Directeur général et artistique