Curator and Theme
Curator and Theme

Curator and Theme

A word from the Curator

And Then, We Built New Forms

The exhibition And Then, We Built New Forms presents contemporary artists from Québec and Canada, the United States, Guatemala, Mexico, the Netherlands, France, Austria, and Russia, who use art as a means to challenge political roles and postures. Organized as a nexus of exhibitions both within and outside of institutional spaces throughout the city of Québec, the project is centered on the theme of resistance and is based on the premise that Québec artists have played a role in giving voice to the 99%, using art as a vehicle for social change. Resistance, in this context, refers to the construction of a force, of a life, and to the logic of change within a situation.

In tandem with the extensive public programming, much thought went into how to frame the very wide variety of tactics and strategies on display in the exhibition. The new forms that are privileged by the thirty-six artists are brought together in a constellation of contexts that address diverse concerns. Of importance in the selection process was the question ofhow contemporary artists negotiate the way that power is secured and challenged in everyday life, and what new forms and discourses are available to them today that propose alternatives to dominant social, political, and historical narratives.

While some of the artworks on display help to communicate and share the political arguments and tactics of social movements (Oliver Ressler), others explore direct action (Just Seeds Artists’ Cooperative, Richard Martel), and documentary forms (Groupe d’action en cinéma Épopée). Other artworks in the exhibition speak to more subtle constructions of identity and self-representation such as neo-feminist action and body art (Julie Andrée T., the Fermières Obsédées, Regina José Galindo). Creating a heightened ambience, Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen’s For an Epidemic Resistance is a 25-channel audio work that recreates a laughing epidemic in Africa in 1962. AbbasAkhavan’s Untitled Garden functions like a time-based animated garden near the Coopérative Méduse building and Gisele Amantea creates a signature large-scale flock installation at the Galerie des arts visuels. Other works for Québec city include Juan Ortiz-Apuy’s This sleep, full of folded dreams, Alain-Martin Richard’s Le bloc que j’habite, Geneviève Chevalier’s Mon boisé, and Jean-Robert Drouillard’s new series on adolescence at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec. And Then, We Built New Forms also presents two more conceptual exhibitions at l’Œil de Poisson and the Musée de la civilisation that feature the work of Guillermo Trejo, Chto Delat?, Marc-Antoine Côté, Mathieu Beauséjour, Rebecca Belmore, Jamelie Hassan, Nadia Myre and Dominique Blain.

The exhibition will also present Paris collective Claire Fontaine’s neon structures Capitalism kills (love) and STRIKE, Amsterdam-based Mark Boulos’s three-screen installation No Permanent Address, and Vienna-based Oliver Ressler’s three-screen installation Take the Square, amongst many other projects and propositions (Marie-France Légaré, Ron Benner, Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens, Justin A. Langlois, Martin Bureau, Condé + Beveridge, Jean Maxime Dufresne and Virginie Laganière, Thomas Kneubühler, Michael McCormack, Clint Neufeld, Giorgia Volpe and Jarod Charzewski).

By bringing together their unique artistic research and different methodological strategies, the artists of the Manif d’art 7 contribute to a five-week zone of interaction and dialogue. What these strategies look like in the exhibition spaces and how they reflect and refract the profound social, cultural and political changes of our times is the interest of this exhibition and is yours to discover as a visitor and participant.

Vicky Chainey Gagnon
Curator
Manif d’art 7 – The Quebec City Biennial

Biography

From July 2014, Vicky Chainey Gagnon holds the position of Director/Chief Curator of The Rooms in St John’s, NL. From 2004-2014 she worked at the university-based Foreman Art Gallery located in Sherbrooke, Québec, finishing her tenure there as Director/Curator. She holds a BFA in Film and Art History (Concordia University, Sherbrooke, 1999) and a MA in Interdisciplinary Studies (York University, Toronto, 2005). Until 2011, she pursued doctoral research at Concordia University’s Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Society and Culture on the subject of civically engaged museology where she received several grants including the Fonds québécois de la recherche en société et culture and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

Since 2005, Vicky Chainey Gagnon has organized projects for the Foreman Art Gallery such as: Time Inside the Image I-III; Above and Below (Adam David Brown, Martha Fleming/Lyne Lapointe, Inger Lise Hansen, Véronique La Perrière M., Penelope Stewart, Irene F. Whittome); Christina Battle: Filing Memory; Charles Stankievech: Over the Rainbow, Under the Radar; Value (Cooke-Sasseville, Antoni Muntadas, Red Channels, Anton Vidokle & Julieta Aranda, WochenKlausur)and the international residency series How Does Art Teach?. In 2009, she launched the Laboratoire communautaire d’art, a special mediation project aimed at exploring, from a creative point of view, urgent contemporary social questions and how they affect our communities.

Her essays and texts have appeared in: ETC, Curator: The Museum Journal and publications by the Art Gallery of York University and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. In 2011, she was awarded the Prix de la relève from the Société des musées québécois. In 2012, Vicky Chainey Gagnon is participating in the residency The Decapitated Museum at the Banff Centre for the Arts. She has taught museology in the Art History and Theory program at Bishop’s University and sat on numerous committees, for the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, as well as for the Canada Council for the Arts.

Commissaire et thème
Commissaire et thème

Commissaire et thème

Mot de la commissaire

Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes

L’exposition Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes présente le travail d’artistes contemporains du Québec et du Canada, des États-Unis, du Guatemala, du Mexique, des Pays-Bas, de France, d’Autriche et de Russie, qui utilisent l’art comme moyen de remettre en cause les rôles et les positions politiques. Organisé comme une série d’expositions interreliées, ce projet se déploie à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur d’espaces institutionnels répartis dans la ville de Québec. Les artistes québécois, en utilisant l’art comme vecteur de changement social, ont contribué à donner voix aux 99 % : telle est la prémisse de ce projet qui a pour thème global la résistance. Une résistance qui, dans ce contexte, s’applique à la construction d’une force, d’une vie, et à la logique du changement dans une situation donnée.

Parallèlement à la vaste programmation publique, la manière d’articuler la très grande variété de tactiques et de stratégies présentées dans l’exposition a fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie. Rassemblées dans une multitude de contextes, les nouvelles formes privilégiées par les trente-six artistes traitent d’enjeux divers. Le processus de sélection a été guidé par la façon dont les artistes contemporains abordent l’obtention du pouvoir et sa contestation dans la vie quotidienne, et par les formes et les discours nouveaux dont elles et ils disposent actuellement pour proposer des alternatives aux récits sociaux, politiques et historiques dominants.

Certaines des œuvres présentées aident à communiquer et à partager les arguments et les tactiques politiques des mouvements sociaux (Oliver Ressler), alors que d’autres explorent l’action directe (Justseeds Artists’ Cooperative, Richard Martel) et les formes documentaires (Groupe d’action en cinéma Épopée). D’autres encore, à travers l’action néoféministe et l’art corporel (Julie Andrée T., les Fermières Obsédées, Regina José Galindo), évoquent des constructions plus subtiles de l’identité et de la représentation de soi.Un pic d’ambiance est atteint avec For an Epidemic Resistance de Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen, une œuvre sonore à 25 pistes qui recrée une épidémie de rire survenue en Afrique en 1962. Tout près de l’édifice de la Coopérative Méduse, Untitled Garden, d’Abbas Akhavan, fonctionne comme un jardin animé qui se déploie dans le temps. Gisele Amantea, quant à elle, réalisera dans la Galerie des arts visuels une de ses grandes installations en floc. Parmi les autres œuvres conçues pour Québec, citons This sleep, full of folded dreams de Juan Ortiz-Apuy, Le bloc que j’habite d’Alain-Martin Richard, Mon boisé de Geneviève Chevalier, ainsi que la nouvelle série de Jean-Robert Drouillard sur l’adolescence, présentée au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec. Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes présente également, à L’Œil de Poisson et au Musée de la civilisation, deux autres expositions conceptuelles centrées sur le travail de Guillermo Trejo, Chto Delat?, Marc-Antoine Côté, Mathieu Beauséjour, Rebecca Belmore, Jamelie Hassan, Nadia Myre et Dominique Blain.

L’exposition présente également Capitalism kills (love) et STRIKE, des structures de néon du collectif parisien Claire Fontaine ; No Permanent Address de Mark Boulos, d’Amsterdam ; Take the Square, une installation à trois écrans du Viennois Oliver Ressler ; ainsi que de nombreux autres projets et propositions (Marie-France Légaré, Ron Benner, Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens, Justin A. Langlois, Martin Bureau, Condé + Beveridge, Jean-Maxime Dufresne/Virginie Laganière, Thomas Kneubühler, Michael McCormack, Clint Neufeld, Giorgia Volpe et Jarod Charzewski).

Les artistes de Manif d’art 7, en réunissant leurs recherches artistiques et leurs stratégies méthodologiques singulières, contribuent, cinq semaines durant, à créer une zone d’interaction et de dialogue. Pour vous qui visitez cette exposition et qui y participez, l’intérêt sera de découvrir les formes que revêtent ces stratégies pour refléter et réfracter les changements sociaux, culturels et politiques profonds qui marquent notre époque.

Vicky Chainey Gagnon
Commissaire
Manif d’art 7 – La biennale de Québec

Biographie

Dès juillet 2014, Vicky Chainey Gagnon occupera le poste de directrice et conservatrice en chef à la galerie The Rooms à Saint-Jean, à Terre-Neuve. De 2004 à 2014, elle a travaillé à la Galerie d’art Foreman de l’Université Bishop’s à Sherbrooke, dans la province de Québec, où elle a terminé son mandat en tant que directrice et conservatrice. Elle détient un baccalauréat en cinéma et en histoire de l’art (Université Concordia, Montréal, 1999) et une maîtrise en études interdisciplinaires (York University, Toronto, 2005). Jusqu’en 2011, elle a poursuivi des recherches doctorales sur la muséologie citoyenne au Centre d’études interdisciplinaires sur la société et la culture de l’Université Concordia, où elle a obtenu plusieurs bourses, dont celle du Fonds québécois de la recherche en société et culture, ainsi que celle du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.

Depuis 2005, Vicky Chainey Gagnon a organisé des projets à la Galerie d’art Foreman tels que Le temps s’inscrit à l’intérieur de l’image [1-3]; Above and Below (Adam David Brown, Martha Fleming/Lyne Lapointe, Inger Lise Hansen, Véronique La Perrière M., Penelope Stewart, Irene F. Whittome); Christina Battle : Mémoire classée; Charles Stankievech : Au-delà de l’arc-en-ciel, sous le radar; et Valeur (Cooke-Sasseville, Antoni Muntadas, Red Channels, Anton Vidokle & Julieta Aranda, WochenKlausur). Elle a également mis sur pied la série de résidences internationales How Does Art Teach?. En 2009, elle lance le Laboratoire communautaire d’art, un projet spécial de médiation visant à explorer d’un point de vue créatif les questions sociales urgentes actuelles et la façon dont elles affectent directement nos communautés.

Ses essais et autres écrits ont paru dans ETC, dans Curator: The Museum Journal et dans des ouvrages publiés par l’Art Gallery of York University et l’Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. Elle a enseigné la muséologie dans le programme d’histoire et de théorie de l’art à l’Université Bishop’s, et a fait partie de nombreux comités pour le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, de même que pour le Conseil des Arts du Canada. En 2012, Vicky Chainey Gagnon participe à la résidence intitulée The Decapitated Museum au Banff Centre for the Arts.