Exhibits – Outdoor Works
Exhibits – Outdoor Works

Exhibits – Outdoor Works

Photographic intervention on two bus shelters of the RTC bus system

Bus stop 1263
Dorchester/De Sainte-Hélène (La Fabrique building/École des arts visuels)
Quebec city, Quebec
Canada
418-524-1917

Bus stop 1583
René-Lévesque Est/de Claire-Fontaine (in front of Grand Théatre)
Quebec city, Quebec
Canada
418-524-1917

Ron Benner (London, Canada)

Ron Benner

Why is the Tomato to Blame? (2014)
Digital photographs

For Manif d’art, Benner is presenting one photographic diptych on two separate bus shelters. In the work Why is the Tomato to Blame?, he juxtaposes the image of an Indian woman with that of a woman in a supermarket in Weston, Ontario. The latter woman, photographed by Bill Madison, was killed in 1961 when a pyramid of cans of tomatoes came crashing down on her.

Carré Lépine

du Pont street, between Fleurie Street and Saint-Vallier Street East
Quebec city, Quebec
Canada
418-524-1917

Abbas Akhavan (Toronto, Canada)

abbas_akhavan

Untitled Garden (2014)
In situ intervention

Untitled Garden, profoundly linked to the notion of time, is an animated garden in the lot near the Coopérative Méduse. First, cedar trees are arranged haphazardly around a bare path through the grass, formed by pedestrians frequently crossing the lot. Like a game of chess, the trees are then moved around to create a perfectly straight and perpendicular alignment with the path, thereby redirecting the pedestrian traffic.

Acknowledgements
Delfina Foundation

Gabrielle-Roy Library

(Wall facing de la Couronne Street)
350, St-Joseph Est
Quebec city, Quebec
Canada
418-641-6789
bibliothequedequebec.qc.ca

Giorgia Volpe (Québec, Canada)

giorgia_volpe_biblio

Résilience (2014)
In situ intervention

Using a contextual and interventionist approach, the project Résilience creates a Situationist game with several meanings. In this work Volpe superimposes the word “Résilience” on a wall of the Gabrielle-Roy library. Created on site, the giant letters make material the multiple meanings of the word. Encompassing physical and psychic ideas, but also ecological ones through adaptation to the environment in a state of transformation, the concept of resilience enters into a dialogue with the chosen site. This project demonstrates Volpe’s interest in the boundary that exists between our actions and the real transformation of public space, as well as the complex relations between the powers that be and our power to change things.

Le Grand Théatre de Québec

269, René-Lévesque Boulevard East
Quebec city, Quebec
Canada
418-643-8111

Thomas Kneubühler (Montréal, Suisse)

thomas_kneubuhler_access

Access Denied (2007)
Inkjet prints on banners

Private Property (2006)
C-prints

In the outdoor installation Access Denied, Kneubühler presents giant portraits of security guards looming over passers-by near the Grand Théâtre in Quebec City. Kneubühler’s desire to explore unfamiliar or forgotten territory has led to his interest in themes around break-ins and surveillance, as well as the boundaries between public and private spaces. The series Private Property, being presented inside the building, shows us deserted places that are generally forbidden to the public. Kneubühler works by night, when only the security personnel appear to be on the premises. Together, these two series reflect his interest in the North American concern for security and private property.

Faubourg’s elevator

417, rue Saint-Vallier Est
Québec
(418) 704-6624

May 3 to june 1st 2014
Lundi au mercredi de 7 h à 19 h
Jeudi et vendredi de 7 h à 22 h
Samedi de 10 h à 22 h
Dimanche de 10 h à 19

Free

Michael McCormack (Halifax, Canada)

michael_mccormack_ascendeur

STATION (2014)
Sound installation

STATION, presented inside the Faubourg’s elevator, takes up the broadcasting of anti-fascist short-wave communications between Madrid and Canada from 1936 to 1939, during the Spanish Civil War. The elevator travels approximately the same distance as a single short wave on the frequency used by Canadian volunteers to transmit signals between the two countries (31.65 megacycles or 9.4786 metres). As this is the height of the floor of the building, the distance travelled provides an opportunity to replicate the temporal nature of the archival documents in the private setting of an elevator’s sound environment.

Expositions – Oeuvres extérieures
Expositions – Oeuvres extérieures

Expositions – Oeuvres extérieures

Intervention photographique sur deux abribus du réseau RTC

Arrêt 1263
Dorchester/De Sainte-Hélène (Édifice de la Fabrique/École des Arts Visuels)
Québec, Québec
Canada
418-524-1917

Arrêt 1583
René-Lévesque Est/de Claire-Fontaine (en face du Grand Théatre)
Québec, Québec
Canada
418-524-1917

Ron Benner (London, Canada)

Ron Benner

L’artiste sera présent à l’arrêt 1263 le 4 mai entre 15 h et 16 h

Why is the Tomato to Blame? (2014)
Photographies numériques

Dans le cadre de Manif d’art 7, Benner présente un diptyque photographique sur deux abribus distincts. Pour l’œuvre Why is the Tomato to Blame?, il juxtapose l’image d’une femme indienne à celle d’une femme se trouvant dans un supermarché de Weston, en Ontario. Photographiée par Bill Madison, cette dernière a été tuée en 1961 par l’effondrement d’une pyramide de boîtes de conserve de tomates.

Carré Lépine

Rue du Pont, entre les rues Fleurie et Saint-Vallier Est
Québec, Québec
Canada
418-524-1917

Abbas Akhavan (Toronto, Canada)

abbas_akhavan

Untitled Garden (2014)
Intervention in situ

Profondément liée à la notion de temps, l’œuvre Untitled Garden est un jardin animé situé sur le terrain à proximité de la Coopérative Méduse. Des cèdres sont d’abord disposés aléatoirement autour d’une ligne de gazon dégarnie, qui s’est formée en raison du passage fréquent des piétons. À la manière d’un jeu d’échecs, les arbres sont ensuite déplacés afin de créer un alignement parfaitement droit et perpendiculaire au sentier, détournant ainsi la circulation piétonnière.

Remerciements
Delfina Foundation

Bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy

(Mur donnant sur la rue de la Couronne), 350, rue St-Joseph Est, Québec, Québec Canada
418-641-6789
bibliothequedequebec.qc.ca

Giorgia Volpe (Québec, Canada)

giorgia_volpe_biblio

Résilience (2014)
Intervention in situ

Le projet Résilience démontre l’intérêt de Giorgia Volpe pour la frontière qui existe entre nos actions et la réelle transformation de l’espace public. Inscrite dans une approche contextuelle et interventionniste, l’œuvre crée un jeu situationniste aux multiples significations, alors que l’artiste superpose le mot « Résilience » à un mur de la Bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy. Créées in situ, les lettres géantes matérialisent les multiples dimensions du sens de ce mot. Le concept de résilience englobe des notions physiques et psychiques, mais aussi écologiques, par l’adaptation à l’environnement en transformation.

Le Grand Théatre de Québec

269, boulevard René-Lévesque Est
Québec, Québec
Canada
418-643-8111
grandtheatre.qc.ca

Thomas Kneubühler (Montréal, Suisse)

thomas_kneubuhler_access

Access Denied (2007)
Impressions à jet d’encre sur bannières

Private Property (2006)
Épreuves couleur

Pour l’installation extérieure intitulée Access Denied, l’artiste présente des portraits géants de gardiens de sécurité qui s’imposent aux passants déambulant près du Grand Théâtre de Québec. Le désir de l’artiste d’explorer des territoires inconnus ou oubliés l’a porté à s’intéresser aux thèmes de l’effraction et de la surveillance, de même qu’aux limites entre les espaces public et privé. La série Private Property, présentée à l’intérieur du bâtiment, porte quant à elle son attention sur des endroits déserts, généralement interdits au public. L’artiste travaille de nuit, alors qu’il ne semble rester que le personnel de sécurité sur les lieux. Ensemble, ces deux séries reflètent l’intérêt que porte Kneubühler pour la préoccupation nord-américaine envers la sécurité et la propriété privée.

Ascenseur du Faubourg

417, rue Saint-Vallier Est
Québec

(418) 704-6624

3 mai au 1er juin 2014
Lundi au mercredi de 7 h à 19 h
Jeudi et vendredi de 7 h à 22 h
Samedi de 10 h à 22 h
Dimanche de 10 h à 19

Gratuit

Michael McCormack (Halifax, Canada)

michael_mccormack_ascendeur

STATION (2014)
Installation sonore

Présentée à l’intérieur de l’ascenseur du Faubourg, l’œuvre STATION se concentre spécifiquement sur les émissions à ondes courtes qui ont été transmises entre Madrid et le Canada pendant la guerre civile espagnole, de 1936 à 1939. L’ascenseur du Faubourg parcourt approximativement la même distance qu’une seule longueur d’onde de la fréquence utilisée par les volontaires canadiens pour transmettre des signaux entre ces deux pays (31,65 mégacycles ou 9,4786 mètres). Cette mesure correspondant à un étage de l’édifice, la distance parcourue offre la possibilité d’une rencontre avec la nature temporelle des documents d’archives, et ce, dans le cadre intime de l’ambiance sonore d’un ascenseur.

L’artiste présente également des installations sonores dans l’ascenseur de la coopérative Méduse et dans l’ascenseur de l’Espace 400e Bell.