Projections
Projections

Projections

Café Babylone

181, rue Saint-Vallier Est
Quebec City
418-523-0700
babyloncafe.ca

5 May 2014
19 h 30 min – 20 h 45 min
Free

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)

Screenings & Talks
Presented by Manif d’art and Antitube

Four evenings of film and video screenings during the month of May 2014 will explore the ways individuals and groups oppose, withstand, and resist structures and barriers that surround them. Each screening will be followed by discussions with special guests. This series is offered in collaboration with Antitube, a non-profit organization which has been presenting film and video events in Quebec City since 1996.

triangle

Portrait of Resistance: The Art & Activism of Carole Condé & Karl Beveridge (2012)
Roz Owen, Jim Miller, Canada, 72 min

Inspired by their playful wit and visual innovations, Portrait of Resistance intimately captures Carole Condé & Karl Beveridge as they create provocative staged photographs —about the environment, the rights of workers and the current global financial crisis.

Guests
Carole Condé and Karl Beveridge, artists

12 May 2014
19 h 30 min – 20 h
Free

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)
Screenings & Talks

Four evenings of film and video screenings during the month of May 2014 will explore the ways individuals and groups oppose, withstand, and resist structures and barriers that surround them. Each screening will be followed by discussions with special guests. This series is offered in collaboration with Antitube, a non-profit organization which has been presenting film and video events in Quebec City since 1996.

triangle

Deep State (2012)
Karen Mirza et Brad Butler, United Kingdom, 45 min

Between experimental cinema and science fiction, Deep State is a film diatribe about “the state within the state”, which points out the areas of influence and the secret places where power is exercised. A film that uses the weapons of imagination against the mechanisms of social repression.

triangle

Tu vas mourir (c’est pas grave) (2012)
Sébastien Baverel and Rémi Pinaud, Quebec, 27 min.

Following a short-lived existence of six months, the château d’Albatar squat is about to close. Subject to an eviction order, its occupants are having their last moments with a seemingly carefree attitude.

Guests
Mathieu Houle-Courcelles, author, and David N. Bernatchez, director

19 May 2014
19 h 30 min – 21 h 10 min
Free

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)
Screenings & Talks

Presented by Manif d’art and Antitube

Four evenings of film and video screenings during the month of May 2014 will explore the ways individuals and groups oppose, withstand, and resist structures and barriers that surround them. Each screening will be followed by discussions with special guests. This series is offered in collaboration with Antitube, a non-profit organization which has been presenting film and video events in Quebec City since 1996.

Pour un seul de mes deux yeux (2005)
Avi Mograbi, Israël, 100 min

Palestinians endure daily humiliations from the Israeli Army. Farmers are not free to plough their fields, children get stuck at the checkpoint when returning from school, an old lady is unable to go to her daughter’s… These exhausted people, like the Jews against the Romans or Samson against the Philistines, are crying out in wrath and despair.

Guest

Paul Warren, retired professor (Faculté des lettres, Université Laval), film critic and essayist.

26 May 2014
19 h 30 min – 20 h 45 min
Free

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)
Screenings & Talks

Presented by Manif d’art and Antitube

Four evenings of film and video screenings during the month of May 2014 will explore the ways individuals and groups oppose, withstand, and resist structures and barriers that surround them. Each screening will be followed by discussions with special guests. This series is offered in collaboration with Antitube, a non-profit organization which has been presenting film and video events in Quebec City since 1996.

antitube

Le Steak (1992)
Pierre Falardeau and Manon Leriche, Quebec, 75 min

Gaétan Hart is fighting for his steak, because he IS what he does, and because putting on his gloves, giving it all he has got and rolling with the punches is what gives him dignity… With simple words from his gut, the boxer dispels prejudice against his unforgiving sport in which “victory is temporary, only defeat is permanent”.

Guest

Manon Leriche, filmmaker

Le Cabaret du Capitole

972, rue Saint-Jean, Place D’Youville
Quebec city
418 694-9930
lecapitole.com/en/cabaret.php

22 May 2014
19 h 00 min – 21 h 00 min
7 $

Bolex camera

Photo exhibit and round table

Presented by Spirafilm

Presentation of seven short films combining digital video and 16 mm film on the theme of Resistance.

Codirected or created as dyptics by:
Louis Blackburn / Catherine Breton
Anne-Marie Bouchard / Felipe Martin
Martin Bureau / Luc Renaud
Jean-Philippe N. Marcoux / Benjamin Tessier

Information and blog: 418 523-1275 and spirafilm.com/versus

Acknowledgements

The Canada Council for the Arts
The Mesure d’aide au démarrage de productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles de la Ville de Québec

Sous-sol du Cercle

226 1/2, rue Saint-Joseph
Quebec City
418-948-8648

23 Mai 2014
20 h 00 min – 22 h 00 min
Free

triangle

Les Fermières Obsédées : Projection
Presented by Vidéo Femmes

After the shooting of their performance Marché du zombie by Vidéo Femmes filmmakers, the Fermières Obsédées used the images to create a unique video project during a 4-day residence at Vidéo Femmes’ studio. The video, going from trash to burlesque, shows the ladies performing under the influence of live music along their itinerary at the opening of Manif d’art 7. It is screened in Le Cercle’s basement as part of a special event. Come meet the artists and finish the night with DJ St-Michel!
For all the details on the Marché du zombie.

Acknowledgements
Vidéo Femmes and the Fermières Obsédées thank Le Cercle

Projections
Projections

Projections

Café Babylone

181, rue Saint-Vallier Est
Québec
418-523-0700
babyloncafe.ca

5 mai 2014
19 h 30 min – 20 h 45 min
Gratuit

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)
Projections-discussions

Présentées par Manif d’art et Antitube

Au cours du mois de mai 2014, quatre soirées de projections de films et de vidéos exploreront les moyens par lesquels des individus et des groupes s’opposent et résistent aux structures et aux barrières qui les entourent. Chaque projection sera suivie de discussions en compagnie d’invités spéciaux. Cette série est offerte en collaboration avec Antitube, un organisme sans but lucratif qui présente des événements cinématographiques et vidéographiques à Québec depuis 1996.

triangle

Portrait of Resistance: The Art & Activism of Carole Condé & Karl Beveridge (2012)
Roz Owen, Jim Miller, Canada, 72 min

S’inspirant de leur humour ludique et de leur traitement visuel innovant, on suit de près Carole Condé et Karl Beveridge dans la création de provocatrices mises en scène photographiques sur les thèmes de l’environnement, des droits des travailleurs et de la crise financière mondiale.

Invités
Carole Condé et Karl Beveridge, artistes

12 mai 2014
19 h 30 min – 20 h
Gratuit

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)
Projections-discussions

Présentées par Manif d’art et Antitube

Au cours du mois de mai 2014, quatre soirées de projections de films et de vidéos exploreront les moyens par lesquels des individus et des groupes s’opposent et résistent aux structures et aux barrières qui les entourent. Chaque projection sera suivie de discussions en compagnie d’invités spéciaux. Cette série est offerte en collaboration avec Antitube, un organisme sans but lucratif qui présente des événements cinématographiques et vidéographiques à Québec depuis 1996.

triangle

Deep State (2012)
Karen Mirza et Brad Butler, Grande-Bretagne, 45 min

Entre cinéma expérimental et science-fiction, Deep State est un pamphlet cinématographique, un film sur « l’état dans l’état », qui pointe les zones d’influence et les lieux secrets de l’exercice du pouvoir. Un film qui lutte avec les armes de l’imaginaire contre les mécaniques de répression sociale.

triangle

Tu vas mourir (c’est pas grave) (2012)
Sébastien Baverel et Rémi Pinaud, Québec, 27 min

Après six mois d’une existence éphémère, le squat du château d’Albatar est sur le point de fermer ses portes et ses occupants, sous le coup d’un avis d’expulsion, vivent leurs derniers moments dans une insouciance apparente.

Invités
Mathieu Houle-Courcelles, auteur, et David N. Bernatchez, réalisateur

19 mai 2014
19 h 30 min – 21 h 10 min
Gratuit

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)
Projections-discussions

Présentées par Manif d’art et Antitube

Au cours du mois de mai 2014, quatre soirées de projections de films et de vidéos exploreront les moyens par lesquels des individus et des groupes s’opposent et résistent aux structures et aux barrières qui les entourent. Chaque projection sera suivie de discussions en compagnie d’invités spéciaux. Cette série est offerte en collaboration avec Antitube, un organisme sans but lucratif qui présente des événements cinématographiques et vidéographiques à Québec depuis 1996.

triangle

Pour un seul de mes deux yeux (2005)
Avi Mograbi, Israël, 100 min

Les Palestiniens subissent quotidiennement les humiliations de l’armée israélienne : les paysans ne peuvent librement labourer leurs champs, des enfants sont bloqués au checkpoint au retour de l’école, une vieille femme ne peut se rendre chez sa fille… Exténuée, cette population, comme hier les Juifs face aux Romains ou Samson face aux Philistins, crie sa colère et son désespoir.

Invité

Paul Warren, professeur retraité (Faculté des lettres, Université Laval), critique de cinéma et essayiste

26 mai 2014
19 h 30 min – 20 h 45 min
Gratuit

triangle

Cinémas et engagements (d’ici et d’ailleurs)
Projections-discussions

Présentées par Manif d’art et Antitube

Au cours du mois de mai 2014, quatre soirées de projections de films et de vidéos exploreront les moyens par lesquels des individus et des groupes s’opposent et résistent aux structures et aux barrières qui les entourent. Chaque projection sera suivie de discussions en compagnie d’invités spéciaux. Cette série est offerte en collaboration avec Antitube, un organisme sans but lucratif qui présente des événements cinématographiques et vidéographiques à Québec depuis 1996.

antitube

Le Steak (1992)
Pierre Falardeau et Manon Leriche, Québec, 75 min

Gaétan Hart se bat pour gagner son steak, parce qu’il EST ce qu’il fait, et parce qu’enfiler les gants et donner tout ce qu’il a en avalant les coups lui confère de la dignité… Avec ses mots simples et ses tripes, le boxeur dégonfle les préjugés entretenus sur ce sport impitoyable dans lequel « la victoire est temporaire, seule la défaite est permanente ».

Invitée

Manon Leriche, cinéaste

Le Cabaret du Capitole

972, rue Saint-Jean, Place D’Youville
Québec
418 694-9930
lecapitole.com/en/cabaret.php

22 mai 2014
19 h 00 min – 21 h 00 min
7 $

Bolex camera

Exposition de photographies et table ronde
Présentées par Spirafilm

Présentation de sept courts métrages jumelant numérique et pellicule 16 mm sous la thématique Résistance.

Coréalisés ou créés en dyptique par :
Louis Blackburn / Catherine Breton
Anne-Marie Bouchard / Felipe Martin
Martin Bureau / Luc Renaud
Jean-Philippe N. Marcoux / Benjamin Tessier

Informations et blogue du projet : 418 523-1275 et spirafilm.com/versus

Remerciements
Le Conseil des arts du Canada
La Mesure d’aide au démarrage de productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles de la Ville de Québec.

Sous-sol du Cercle

226 1/2, rue Saint-Joseph
Québec
418-948-8648

23 mai 2014
20 h 00 min – 22 h 00 min
Gratuit

triangle

Les Fermières Obsédées : Projection
Présentée par Vidéo Femmes

Comme suite au tournage par l’équipe de documentaristes de Vidéo Femmes du Marché du zombie, performance des Fermières Obsédées, le collectif a utilisé les images obtenues pour réaliser un projet vidéo unique lors d’une résidence de création de quatre jours dans le studio de Vidéo Femmes. Cette vidéo, allant du trash au burlesque, rapporte les faits et gestes de ces demoiselles sous l’influence de musique live lors de leur parcours performatif présenté à l’inauguration de Manif d’art 7. Elle est présentée au Cercle lors de cette soirée spéciale. Venez rencontrer les artistes et poursuivre la soirée en compagnie de DJ St-Michel!

Remerciements

Vidéo Femmes et les Fermières Obsédées remercient Le Cercle.