Tag Archives: contemporary art

Invitation to Manif d’art 7 Benefit Premiere Event

Friday May 2 from 5 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Espace 400e Bell
100, Quai Saint-André Quebec City
50$ (Plus taxes)*

The Manif d’art 7 Benefit Premiere Event is the one must-attend VIP cultural event this spring! Come meet the curator, the artists and the Quebec City Biennial’s partners and take part in the unveiling of the main site’s exhibit including 14 artists. There will also be the launch of the Manif d’art 7 Catalogue. Matthieu Dugal will be hosting the event. A wine of honor and hors-d’œuvres will be served.

The ticket includes one Manif d’art 7 pin and a drink coupon.
Tickets also available at Manif d’art offices.

*Limited places. 
Note that the VIP entrance tickets earnings to $ 250 are no longer available.

Manif d’art returns at Espace 400e Bell from May 3 through June 1, 2014

Quebec City, Wednesday December 11, 2014 – The organizers of Manif d’art – the Quebec city Biennial confirm that their event is returning at the Espace 400e Bell in 2014. As its main site, the building located in the Old Port of Quebec City will host a sizeable exhibition with more than 10 visual and media arts artists. In all, the contemporary art festival will occupy over 30 indoor and outdoor sites from May 3 through June 1, 2014.

The guidelines of Manif d’art 7, as defined by curator Vicky Chainey Gagnon, will be deployed around the theme of Resistance – And Then, We Built New Forms. In each work of art and event, it is the political function of visual art, of cinema, of video and of performance which will be scrutinized.

The broad programming, targeting the curious as well as the connoisseurs, will be announced in April at a press conference in Quebec City.

Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec changes its name to Manif d’art
The organization Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec decided its name change and change of address should happen concurrently. From now on, this organization and the international biennial of contemporary art it hosts will share the same name: Manif d’art. This announcement was made by Manif d’art president Louis Masson during the unveiling of the organization’s new corporate image on Friday November 15, 2013.

Major biennial of contemporary art on the Canadian scene, Manif d’art – the Quebec city Biennial presents the work of nearly 100 artists originating from every horizon. Each edition comprises exhibits and a multitude of activities based around a central theme exclusive to that edition of the event. Over 30 cultural organizations help make this international festival an integral aspect of the Quebec City art scene.

Press relations Quebec and regions:
Marie-Ève Charlebois, Communications Sira ba
418-524-4648, marie-eve@sira-ba.com

Press relations Montréal:
Marie Marais, Press agent
514-845-2821, marais@cooptel.qc.ca

Press relations outside Quebec province:
Patrick Fournier, Director of Communications, Manif d’art
418-524-1917, communications@manifdart.org

Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec changes its name to Manif d’art

Quebec City, Monday, November 18, 2013 – The organization Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec decided its name change and change of address should happen concurrently. From now on, this organization and the international biennial of contemporary art it hosts will share the same name: Manif d’art. This announcement was made by Manif d’art president Louis Masson during the unveiling of the organization’s new corporate image last Friday evening. Manif d’art is one of the largest contemporary art festivals in Canada.

According to Masson, this is a natural and logical step for the organization. “The biennial has been expanding ever since it was first held in 2000; it has even become better known than the organization itself. That is why we wanted to eliminate any distinction between the organization and the event, which proved confusing in the past. Now, we will focus on promoting a strong Manif d’art brand that is positive and clearly recognizable.”

The corporate brand was reworked in association with the advertising agency lg2. The brand image and logo were completely rethought and will now appear together on all corporate documents. The new image and logo can be seen in the windows and on the door of Manif d’art offices at the Coopérative Méduse complex in Quebec City.

Manif d’art 7 – the Quebec City Biennial will be on the theme of resistance and be held from May 3 to June 1, 2014. The organizers are planning a program of stimulating exhibits and activities for this event.

Major biennial of contemporary art on the Canadian scene, Manif d’art – the Quebec city Biennial presents the work of nearly 100 artists originating from every horizon. Each edition comprises exhibits and a multitude of activities based around a central theme exclusive to that edition of the event. Over 30 cultural organizations help make this international festival an integral aspect of the Quebec City art scene. Manif d’art – the Quebec City Biennial program has something for everyone, from those simply curious about contemporary art to experts in the field. The next biennial will be held from May 3 to June 1, 2014, and be on the theme of resistance.

Contact:
Patrick Fournier
Director of Communications
Manif d’art
communications@manifdart.org
418 524-1917

Manif d’art 7 : Call for projects by Canadian Artists

** Due to a technical problem we had yesterday, we accept applications until midnight tonight, May 2. Sorry for the inconvenience. **

PDF Version

Manif d’art 7 – May and June 2014
Curator : Vicky Chainey Gagnon
Theme : Resistance – And Then, We Built New Forms
Deadline : May 1, 2013

Manif d’art
Major biennial of contemporary visual arts on the Canadian scene, Manif d’art presents in Quebec City and its area the work of nearly 100 artists originating from every horizon. Approximately 30 cultural and artistic groups from Quebec City and worldwide collaborate in this must-see artistic manifestation held between May and June every two years. In addition to the exhibitions, the event offers a host of activities evolving around a central theme, unique to each edition. Manif d’art is meant for the initiated public as well as uninitiated visitors who enjoy a vast section dedicated to the discovery of contemporary art.

Theme
The guidelines of Manif d’art 7, as defined by curator Vicky Chainey Gagnon, will be deployed around the theme of resistance. The event will begin by a recognition of the critical role played by visual and media arts in the documentation of conflicts and of manifestations of resistance. As pointed out by the curator, their contribution to the expression of personal views on politics, war, social injustice and the human condition will also be examined : “Current events are marked by various disturbing trends such as extreme fundamentalism, the exhilaration of speculation and consumption, combined with rampant unemployment, through banking crises and the overheating of stock markets, not mentioning the ecological issue. Within the very recent context of a global economic collapse, it seems a favourable moment to take a look at contemporary artistic productions which bespeak the modes of expression of resistance today.”

The curator will detail the theme by approaching the numerous tactics and strategies which shape radical contemporary practices. In each case, it is the political function of visual art, of cinema, of video and of performance which will be scrutinized.

Curator
Vicky Chainey Gagnon is the director/curator of the Foreman Art Gallery, established at Bishop’s University in Sherbrooke, Quebec Province. She holds a bachelor’s degree in cinema and art history (Concordia University, Montreal, 1999) and a master’s in interdisciplinary studies (York University, Toronto, 2005). Until 2011, she pursued doctorate research on public museology at Concordia University’s Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Society and Culture.

Since 2005, Vicky Chainey Gagnon has organized numerous projects at the Foreman Art Gallery among which the series of international residencies How Does Art Teach? In 2009, she launched the Laboratoire communautaire d’art (community art laboratory), a special mediation project aimed at exploring pressing contemporary social questions from a creative point of view and the way they affect our communities directly. Her essays and other writings were published in ETC, in Curator: The Museum Journal and in works published by the Art Gallery of York University and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. She taught museology within the history and art theory curriculum at Bishop’s University and was member of many committees for the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, as well as the Canadian Council for the Arts.

Contents of the digital application file :

  • A letter of intent or project letter (250-word maximum) in Word or PDF format ;
  • A two-page (max.) document explaining your artistic approach;
  • 10 pictures in PDF or JPG format (72 dpi) of a maximum of 500kb each, accompanied by a descriptive list including the title of the work, the medium, dimensions and date;
  • A link to your web page;
  • A curriculum vitae (5-page maximun) for each participant in Word or PDF format, including his/her contact details (postal address, date of birth, citizenship, telephone, e-mail).

Details :

  • Send the digital application to appel_call@manifdart.org before May 1, 2013.
  • Applications following the theme, conforming to instructions and received before the deadline only will be forwarded to the curator.
  • Applications sent in digital format only will be accepted. Documents sent by surface mail will not be forwarded or returned.
  • Do not send video files by e-mail. Supply links which allow online viewing.
  • Collectives must identify an official leader.
  • A notice of receipt will be sent by e-mail upon reception of the application. We are not responsible for unreceived applications.
  • Only candidates whose application has been selected will receive a reply.
  • This call for projects concerns Canadian citizens only. Selection of foreign artists is by invitation only.

Information :
appel_call@manifdart.org
1-418-524-1917

Manif d’art 7: Nomination of Vicky Chainey Gagnon as curator

PDF press release

Québec City, Tuesday, November 20, 2012 – The Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec team is delighted to announce the nomination of Sherbrooke’s Vicky Chainey Gagnon as the curator of Manif d’art 7 – the Québec City Biennial. This major contemporary visual arts event will revolve around the theme of resistance, presenting around a hundred exhibitions and activities in May and June of 2014.  

Director/curator of the Foreman Art Gallery of Bishop’s University, Sherbrooke, Vicky Chainey Gagnon is renowned for her innovative approach and interest in emerging artistic practices. Her research into citizen museology has led her to explore new forms of cultural mediation, recently presented within the framework of a series of exhibitions. In 2011, Chainey Gagnon was awarded the Prix Relève by the Société des musées québécois, in recognition of the contribution of her work to the advancement of Québec museology.

A theme centred around resistance
The main lines of the Manif d’art 7, as defined by guest curator Vicky Chainey Gagnon, will be developed around the theme of resistance. The exhibition starts with a consideration that the visual and media arts have played a critical role in documenting conflict and resistance. As the curator points out, their contribution to the expression of personal views on politics, war, social inequities, and the human condition will also be examined: “Worrisome trends exist today such as extreme fundamentalism, euphoric speculation and consumerism, combined with mass unemployment, banking crises, and overheated stock markets, notwithstanding ecological duress. In the context of a very recent global economic meltdown, the time is right to look at contemporary artistic productions that speak to articulations of resistance today.”

The curator will explore the theme by addressing the many tactics and strategies that shape radical contemporary practice. In each, the political function of art, film, video, and performance will be examined.

Curator biography
Vicky Chainey Gagnon is Director/Curator at the university-based Foreman Art Gallery located in Sherbrooke, Québec. She holds a BFA in Film and Art History (Concordia University, Sherbrooke, 1999) and a MA in Interdisciplinary Studies (York University, Toronto, 2005). Until 2011, she pursued doctoral research at Concordia University’s Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Society and Culture on the subject of civically engaged museology where she received several grants including the Fonds québécois de la recherche en société et culture and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

Since 2005, Vicky Chainey Gagnon has organized projects for the Foreman Art Gallery such as: Time Inside the Image I-III; Above and Below (Adam David Brown, Martha Fleming/Lyne Lapointe, Inger Lise Hansen, Véronique La Perrière M., Penelope Stewart, Irene F. Whittome); Christina Battle: Filing Memory; Charles Stankievech: Over the Rainbow, Under the Radar; Value (Cooke-Sasseville, Antoni Muntadas, Red Channels, Anton Vidokle & Julieta Aranda, WochenKlausur) and the international residency series How Does Art Teach?. In 2009, she launched the Laboratoire communautaire d’art, a special mediation project aimed at exploring, from a creative point of view, urgent contemporary social questions and how they affect our communities.

Her essays and texts have appeared in: ETC, Curator: The Museum Journal and publications by the Art Gallery of York University and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. In 2011, she was awarded the Prix de la relève from the Société des musées québécois. In 2012, Vicky Chainey Gagnon is participating in the residency The Decapitated Museum at the Banff Centre for the Arts. She has taught museology in the Art History and Theory program at Bishop’s University and sat on numerous committees, for the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, as well as for the Canada Council for the Arts.

Manif d’art
One of Canada’s major contemporary arts biennials, Manif d’art brings the works of nearly 100 artists from around the world to Québec City and its environs. About 30 cultural and artistic institutions and organizations from Québec and the international scene collaborate in this key artistic event held every two years in May and June. In addition to exhibitions, the event offers a whole host of activities elaborated around a central theme, specific to each edition. Manif d’art is intended for both art specialists and the general public alike, with a vast array of programming dedicated to the discovery of contemporary art. The biennial is organized by the Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec organization.

Previous editions
Manif d’art – Ornamentation – From September 1to October 15, 2000
Curator: Andrée Daigle

Manif d’art 2 – Happiness and Pretence – From May 1 to 31, 2003
Curator: Bernard Lamarche

Manif d’art 3 – Cynisms? – From May 1 to June 12, 2005
Curator: Patrice Loubier, co-curator: André-Louis Paré

Manif d’art 4 – Toi/You, la rencontre – From May 1to June 15, 2008
Curator: Lisanne Nadeau

Manif d’art 5 – Catastrophe? What catastrophe! – From May 1 to June 13, 2010
Curator: Sylvie Fortin

Manif d’art 6 – Machines – The Shapes of Movement – From May 3 to June 3, 2012
Curator: Nicole Gingras

Presenting organization
Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec is a non-profit organization and a recognized charitable organization. Its primary mandate is to promote investigative and experimental art by showcasing cutting-edge major trends in visual art from Québec, Canada and abroad. Addressing a varied public, the organization establishes contexts for non-conventional creation and exhibition, thereby fostering enquiry into fresh issues within contemporary art. The organization brings together artists at different stages of career. Its activities offer them innovative platforms for creation and exhibition. Examples include the Manif d’art – the Québec city biennial, l’AutocART, Première Ovation Arts visuels, Arts médiatiques et Métiers d’art, exhibitions outside the country and Les Prix Videre en arts visuels.

 

Source and press relations outside the province of Québec:
Patrick Fournier, Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec, 418-524-1917, communication@manifdart.org

Press relations Québec City and regions:
Marie-Ève Charlebois, Communications Sira ba, 418-524-4648, marie-eve@sira-ba.com

Press relations Montréal:
Marie Marais, 514-845-2821, marais@cooptel.qc.ca

Archives par mot-clé : contemporary art

Invitation à l’Avant-Première bénéfice de Manif d’art 7

Vendredi 2 mai de 17 h à 20 h 30
Espace 400e Bell
100, Quai Saint-André Québec
50$ (Plus taxes)*

L’événement culturel VIP à ne pas manquer ce printemps, c’est l’Avant-Première bénéfice de Manif d’art 7! Venez rencontrer la commissaire, les artistes et les partenaires de la biennale de Québec lors du prédévoilement de l’exposition du lieu central regroupant 13 artistes. C’est également à cette occasion que sera lancé le catalogue de Manif d’art 7, superbe ouvrage de référence au design exceptionnel. Matthieu Dugal animera la soirée. Un vin d’honneur et des bouchées gourmandes seront servis.

Le billet donne droit à un macaron Manif d’art 7 et un coupon pour une consommation. Billets en vente également au bureau de Manif d’art.

*Places limitées.
À noter que les billets Entrée VIP bénéfice à 250$ ne sont plus en vente.

Manif d’art investira à nouveau l’Espace 400e Bell du 3 mai au 1er juin 2014

Québec, le mercredi 11 décembre 2013 – Les organisateurs de Manif d’art – La biennale de Québec confirment qu’ils utiliseront de nouveau l’Espace 400e Bell comme lieu central en 2014. Le bâtiment, situé dans le Vieux-Port de Québec, sera l’hôte d’une exposition d’envergure regroupant plus de 10 artistes en arts visuels et médiatiques. Au total, c’est plus de 30 lieux intérieurs et extérieurs qui seront investis du 3 mai au 1er juin 2014 par le festival international en art actuel.

Comme définies par la commissaire Vicky Chainey Gagnon, les activités de Manif d’art 7 évolueront autour du thème Résistance – Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes. Pour chaque œuvre et événement présentés, c’est la fonction politique de l’art visuel, du cinéma, de la vidéo et de la performance qui sera examinée.

La vaste programmation, adressée tant aux curieux qu’aux spécialistes, sera dévoilée au mois d’avril à Québec lors d’une conférence de presse.

Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec devient Manif d’art
L’organisme a profité du déménagement dans ses nouveaux locaux à la Coopérative Méduse pour revoir son image et son appellation. Désormais, la biennale internationale en art actuel de Québec et l’organisme qui la présente utilisent la même appellation : Manif d’art. C’est ce qu’a annoncé le président Me Louis Masson lors d’une soirée spéciale qui s’est déroulée le vendredi 15 novembre 2013.

Manif d’art en bref
Biennale majeure en art actuel sur la scène canadienne, Manif d’art – la biennale de Québec présente le travail de près de 100 artistes provenant de tous les horizons. En plus des expositions, l’événement offre une pléiade d’activités évoluant autour d’un thème central, exclusif à chaque édition. Plus de 30 organismes culturels contribuent à faire de ce festival international une expérience incontournable.

Relations de presse Québec et régions :
Marie-Ève Charlebois, Communications Sira ba
418-524-4648, marie-eve@sira-ba.com

Relations de presse Montréal :
Marie Marais, attachée de presse
514-845-2821, marais@cooptel.qc.ca

Relations de presse hors Québec :
Patrick Fournier, directeur des communications, Manif d’art
418-524-1917, communications@manifdart.org

Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec devient Manif d’art

Québec, le lundi 18 novembre 2013 – L’organisme Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec profite du déménagement dans ses nouveaux locaux à la Coopérative Méduse pour revoir son appellation. Désormais, l’organisme et la biennale internationale en art actuel qu’il présente utiliseront la même appellation : Manif d’art. C’est ce qu’a annoncé le président Me Louis Masson lors d’une soirée spéciale vendredi dernier, où la nouvelle image de marque a été lancée. Manif d’art – la biennale de Québec, avec sa vaste programmation d’expositions et d’activités, est l’un des plus grands festivals en art actuel au Canada.

Pour Me Masson, il s’agit d’une évolution naturelle et logique pour l’organisme : « Depuis sa première édition en 2000, notre biennale a pris beaucoup d’ampleur et sa notoriété est devenue supérieure à celle de notre organisme. C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé d’éliminer la distinction, parfois confondante, entre l’organisme et l’événement. Manif d’art projettera désormais une image forte, claire et accessible au public. »

La refonte d’identité a été effectuée en partenariat avec la firme lg2. L’image de marque et le logo ont été entièrement revus. Ils seront désormais utilisés sur l’ensemble des documents corporatifs. D’ailleurs, Manif d’art a déjà appliqué ce visuel dans les vitrines et la porte de son bureau sur la côte d’Abraham.

Manif d’art 7 – la biennale de Québec, dont la thématique porte sur la résistance, se tiendra du 3 mai au 1er juin 2014. Les organisateurs promettent une riche programmation d’expositions et d’activités hautes en couleur.

Biennale majeure en art actuel sur la scène canadienne, Manif d’art – la biennale de Québec présente le travail de près de 100 artistes provenant de tous les horizons. En plus des expositions, l’événement offre une pléiade d’activités évoluant autour d’un thème central, exclusif à chaque édition. Plus de 30 organismes culturels contribuent à faire de ce festival international une expérience incontournable. Manif d’art – la biennale de Québec offre une vaste programmation qui plait tant aux curieux qu’aux spécialistes. La prochaine édition se tiendra du 3 mai au 1er juin 2014 et abordera le thème de la résistance.

Source :
Patrick Fournier
Directeur des communications
Manif d’art
communications@manifdart.org
418 524-1917

Manif d’art 7 : Appel de dossiers pour artistes canadiens

**En raison d’un problème technique survenu hier, nous acceptons les dossiers jusqu’à minuit ce soir, le 2 mai. Nous sommes désolés de ce contretemps.**

Version PDF

Manif d’art 7 – Mai et juin 2014
Commissaire : Vicky Chainey Gagnon
Thème : Résistance – Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes
Date butoir : 1er mai 2013

Manif d’art
Biennale majeure en arts visuels actuels sur la scène canadienne, la Manif d’art présente à Québec et en périphérie le travail de près de 100 artistes provenant de tous les horizons. Environ 30 organismes culturels et artistiques de la ville de Québec et de l’international collaborent à cette manifestation artistique incontournable se tenant de mai à juin tous les deux ans. En plus des expositions, l’événement offre une pléiade d’activités évoluant autour d’un thème central, exclusif à chaque édition. La Manif d’art s’adresse au public spécialisé ainsi qu’aux visiteurs non initiés qui profitent d’un vaste volet destiné à la découverte de l’art actuel.

Thématique
Les lignes directrices de la Manif d’art 7, telles que définies par la commissaire Vicky Chainey Gagnon, se déploieront autour du thème de la résistance. L’événement commencera par une reconnaissance du rôle critique joué par les arts visuels et médiatiques dans la documentation de conflits et de manifestations de résistance. Comme l’indique la commissaire, leur contribution à l’expression de points de vue personnels sur la politique, la guerre, les injustices sociales et la condition humaine sera également examinée : « L’actualité est marquée par différentes vagues inquiétantes comme le fondamentalisme extrême, l’euphorie de la spéculation et de la consommation, combinés au chômage généralisé, aux crises bancaires et à la surchauffe des marchés boursiers, sans parler des enjeux écologiques. Dans le contexte très récent d’un effondrement économique planétaire, le moment semble propice pour jeter un coup d’œil sur les productions artistiques contemporaines qui parlent des modes d’articulation de la résistance aujourd’hui. »

La commissaire approfondira le thème en abordant les nombreuses tactiques et stratégies qui façonnent les pratiques radicales actuelles. Dans chacun des cas, c’est la fonction politique de l’art visuel, du cinéma, de la vidéo et de la performance qui sera examinée.

Commissaire
Vicky Chainey Gagnon est directrice/conservatrice de la Galerie d’art Foreman, établie à l’Université Bishop’s à Sherbrooke, au Québec. Elle détient un baccalauréat en cinéma et en histoire de l’art (Université Concordia, Montréal, 1999) et une maîtrise en études interdisciplinaires (York University, Toronto, 2005). Jusqu’en 2011, elle a poursuivi des recherches doctorales sur la muséologie citoyenne au Centre d’études interdisciplinaires sur la société et la culture de l’Université Concordia.

Depuis 2005, Vicky Chainey Gagnon a organisé plusieurs projets à la Galerie d’art Foreman dont la série de résidences internationales How Does Art Teach? En 2009, elle a lancé le Laboratoire communautaire d’art, un projet spécial de médiation visant à explorer d’un point de vue créatif les questions sociales urgentes actuelles et la façon dont elles affectent directement nos communautés. Ses essais et autres écrits ont paru dans ETC, dans Curator: The Museum Journal et dans des ouvrages publiés par l’Art Gallery of York University et l’Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. Elle a enseigné la muséologie dans le programme d’histoire et de théorie de l’art à l’Université Bishop’s et a fait partie de nombreux comités pour le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, de même que pour le Conseil des arts du Canada.

Contenu du dossier numérique :

  • Une lettre d’intention ou de projet (maximum 250 mots) en formats Word ou PDF;
  • Un document de deux pages maximum expliquant votre démarche artistique;
  • 10 images en format JPG (72 dpi) ou PDF d’un maximum de 500 ko chacune,  accompagnées d’une liste descriptive comprenant le titre de l’œuvre, le médium, les dimensions et la date;
  • Un lien vers votre page web;
  • Un curriculum vitæ (maximum 5 pages) pour chaque participant en format Word ou PDF, comprenant ses coordonnées (adresse postale, date de naissance, citoyenneté, téléphone, courriel).

Détails :

  • Envoyer le dossier numérique à appel_call@manifdart.org avant le 1er mai 2013.
  • Seuls les dossiers respectant la thématique, conformes aux instructions et reçus avant la date limite seront acheminés à la commissaire.
  • Seuls les dossiers envoyés en format électronique seront acceptés. Les documents envoyés par la poste ne seront ni acheminés ni retournés.
  • Ne pas envoyer de vidéo par courriel. Fournir un lien permettant de le visionner en ligne.
  • Les collectifs doivent identifier un responsable.
  • Un accusé de réception sera transmis par courriel lors de la réception du dossier. Nous ne sommes pas responsables des dossiers non reçus.
  • Seuls les candidats dont le dossier a été sélectionné recevront une réponse.
  • Cet appel de dossiers ne concerne que les citoyens canadiens. La sélection des artistes étrangers se fait sur invitation seulement.

Renseignements :

appel_call@manifdart.org
1-418-524-1917

Manif d’art 7 : Vicky Chainey Gagnon est nommée commissaire

Communiqué PDF

Québec, le mardi 20 novembre 2012 – L’équipe de Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec est heureuse d’annoncer la nomination de la Sherbrookoise Vicky Chainey Gagnon au titre de commissaire de la Manif d’art 7. La notion de résistance sera au cœur de la thématique de cet événement majeur en arts visuels actuels. En mai et juin 2014, la biennale de Québec présentera une centaine d’expositions et d’activités.

Directrice/conservatrice de la Galerie d’art Foreman de l’Université Bishop’s de Sherbrooke, Vicky Chainey Gagnon est reconnue pour sa démarche novatrice et son intérêt pour les pratiques émergentes. Ses recherches sur la muséologie citoyenne l’ont menée vers de nouvelles formes de médiations culturelles mises de l’avant dans le cadre d’une série d’expositions présentée récemment. La Société des musées québécois lui a décerné le Prix Relève 2011 pour récompenser ses réalisations qui contribuent à l’avancement de la muséologie québécoise.

Une thématique axée sur la résistance
Les lignes directrices de la Manif d’art 7, telles que définies par la commissaire Vicky Chainey Gagnon, se déploieront autour du thème de la résistance. L’événement commencera par une reconnaissance du rôle critique joué par les arts visuels et médiatiques dans la documentation de conflits et de manifestations de résistance. Comme l’indique la commissaire, leur contribution à l’expression de points de vue personnels sur la politique, la guerre, les injustices sociales et la condition humaine sera également examinée : « L’actualité est marquée par différentes vagues inquiétantes comme le fondamentalisme extrême, l’euphorie de la spéculation et de la consommation, combinés au chômage généralisé, aux crises bancaires et à la surchauffe des marchés boursiers, sans parler des enjeux écologiques. Dans le contexte très récent d’un effondrement économique planétaire, le moment semble propice pour jeter un coup d’œil sur les productions artistiques contemporaines qui parlent des modes d’articulation de la résistance aujourd’hui. »

La commissaire approfondira le thème en abordant les nombreuses tactiques et stratégies qui façonnent les pratiques radicales actuelles. Dans chacun des cas, c’est la fonction politique de l’art, du cinéma, de la vidéo et de la performance qui sera examinée.

Biographie de la commissaire
Vicky Chainey Gagnon est directrice/conservatrice de la Galerie d’art Foreman, établie à l’Université Bishop’s à Sherbrooke, au Québec. Elle détient un baccalauréat en cinéma et en histoire de l’art (Université Concordia, Montréal, 1999) et une maîtrise en études interdisciplinaires (York University, Toronto, 2005). Jusqu’en 2011, elle a poursuivi des recherches doctorales sur la muséologie citoyenne au Centre d’études interdisciplinaires sur la société et la culture de l’Université Concordia, où elle a obtenu plusieurs bourses, dont celle du Fonds québécois de la recherche en société et culture, ainsi que celle du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.

Depuis 2005, Vicky Chainey Gagnon a organisé des projets à la Galerie d’art Foreman tels que Le temps s’inscrit à l’intérieur de l’image [1-3]; Above and Below (Adam David Brown, Martha Fleming/Lyne Lapointe, Inger Lise Hansen, Véronique La Perrière M., Penelope Stewart, Irene F. Whittome); Christina Battle : Mémoire classée; Charles Stankievech : Au-delà de l’arc-en-ciel, sous le radar; et Valeur (Cooke-Sasseville, Antoni Muntadas, Red Channels, Anton Vidokle & Julieta Aranda, WochenKlausur). Elle a également mis sur pied la série de résidences internationales How Does Art Teach?. En 2009, elle lance le Laboratoire communautaire d’art, un projet spécial de médiation visant à explorer d’un point de vue créatif les questions sociales urgentes actuelles et la façon dont elles affectent directement nos communautés.

Ses essais et autres écrits ont paru dans ETC, dans Curator: The Museum Journal et dans des ouvrages publiés par l’Art Gallery of York University et l’Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. Elle a enseigné la muséologie dans le programme d’histoire et de théorie de l’art à l’Université Bishop’s, et a fait partie de nombreux comités pour le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, de même que pour le Conseil des Arts du Canada. En 2012, Vicky Chainey Gagnon participe à la résidence intitulée The Decapitated Museum au Banff Centre for the Arts.

Manif d’art
Biennale majeure en arts visuels actuels sur la scène canadienne, la Manif d’art présente à Québec et en périphérie le travail de près de 100 artistes provenant de tous les horizons. Environ 30 institutions et organismes culturels et artistiques de la ville de Québec et de l’international collaborent à cette manifestation artistique incontournable se tenant de mai à juin tous les deux ans. En plus des expositions, l’événement offre une pléiade d’activités évoluant autour d’un thème central, exclusif à chaque édition. La Manif d’art s’adresse au public spécialisé ainsi qu’aux visiteurs non initiés qui profitent d’un vaste volet destiné à la découverte de l’art actuel. La biennale est mise sur pied par l’organisme Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec.

Précédentes éditions
Manif d’art – L’ornementation – Du 1er septembre au 15 octobre 2000
Commissaire : Andrée Daigle

Manif d’art 2 – Bonheur et simulacres – Du 1er au 31 mai 2003
Commissaire : Bernard Lamarche

Manif d’art 3 – Cynismes ? – Du 1er mai au 12 juin 2005
Commissaire : Patrice Loubier, co-commissaire : André-Louis Paré

Manif d’art 4 – Toi/You, la rencontre – Du 1er mai au 15 juin 2008
Commissaire : Lisanne Nadeau

Manif d’art 5 – Catastrophe ? Quelle catastrophe ! – Du 1er mai au 13 juin 2010
Commissaire : Sylvie Fortin

Manif d’art 6 – Machines – Les formes du mouvement – Du 3 mai au 3 juin 2012
Commissaire : Nicole Gingras

Organisme présentateur
Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec est un organisme à but non lucratif aussi reconnu à titre d’œuvre de bienfaisance. Son principal mandat est de promouvoir l’art de recherche et l’expérimentation en diffusant la fine pointe des grands courants québécois, canadiens et internationaux en arts visuels. Par la réalisation d’activités s’adressant à des publics variés, l’organisme propose des cadres de création et de diffusion non conventionnels propres à alimenter des questionnements sur les nouveaux enjeux en art actuel. L’organisme met sur pied et gère plusieurs projets : la Manif d’art, l’AutocART des arts visuels, la circulation d’œuvres à l’étranger, le volet Arts visuels, Arts médiatiques et Métiers d’art de la mesure Première Ovation et les Prix Videre en arts visuels.

 

Source et relations de presse hors Québec :
Patrick Fournier, Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec, 418-524-1917, communication@manifdart.org

Relations de presse Québec et régions :
Marie-Ève Charlebois, Communications Sira ba, 418-524-4648, marie-eve@sira-ba.com

Relations de presse Montréal :
Marie Marais, 514-845-2821, marais@cooptel.qc.ca