Manif d’art 7
Manif d’art 7

Manif d’art 7

The Quebec City Biennial unveils its living tableau of contemporary art from May 3 to June 1, 2014! For a whole month, you will get to see the work of more than 120 artists all over Quebec City and its surroundings. Whether you are a specialist or just curious to discover contemporary art, more than 60 exhibits and surprising activities are waiting for you. Get the pin to live the full experience !

The Curator for the 7th edition of this event, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, has gathered a host of Quebec, Canadian and international artists who have created works inspired by the theme of Resistance – And Then, We Built New Forms.

Look at the complete program online or download the program in PDF (4.2 MB).

A word from the Spokesperson

MatthieuDugal_site

Hello!

When an event you’ve been admiring so much for so long asks you to be its spokesperson, you feel like a 9-year-old who got picked first by the soccer team captain in Phys Ed. Except that had never happened to me before. So, I blushed a little.

La Manif acts on so many levels. It shakes you, stimulates you, astounds you and—dirty word ahead—disturbs you. It scatters ideas, it disseminates art, without levelling down. It speaks to your brainy side. Which is rare. And precious.

Unanimousness is mind-numbing boredom. Long live bodacious events! La Manif is about art that refuses to match the shades of your sofa. And that’s fine by me.

Happy Manif d’art 7!

Matthieu Dugal

Manif d’art 7
Manif d’art 7

Manif d’art 7

L’art actuel se manifeste avec Manif d’art 7 – La biennale de Québec du 3 mai au 1er juin 2014! Pendant un mois, découvrez le travail de plus de 120 artistes partout à Québec et dans les environs. Que vous soyez spécialiste ou simplement curieux, ce sont plus de 60 expositions et activités étonnantes qui vous attendent. Procurez-vous le macaron pour vivre l’expérience totale !

La commissaire de cette 7e édition, Vicky Chainey Gagnon, a réuni des artistes québécois, canadiens et internationaux qui font écho à une réflexion profonde sur la résistance et ses différentes manifestations autour du thème Résistance – Et puis, nous avons construit de nouvelles formes.

Consultez la programmation complète en ligne ou téléchargez le programme complet en version PDF (4,2 Mo).

Mot du porte-parole de Manif d’art 7

MatthieuDugal_site

Bonjour !

Quand un événement que tu admires autant et depuis aussi longtemps te demande d’être son porte-parole, c’est un peu comme avoir 9 ans et être choisi en premier par un capitaine dans l’équipe de soccer du cours d’éduc. Sauf que ça ne m’était jamais arrivé avant. Je rougis un peu, donc.

La Manif, ça participe à un tas de choses. À être secoué, stimulé, ébahi et (hou le gros mot !) dérangé. Ça fait circuler des idées, ça fait circuler de l’art, ça nivelle par le haut, ça parle à ton côté intelligent. C’est donc rare. Et précieux.

Et parce que l’unanimisme nous engourdit d’ennui, vive les événements qui osent ! La Manif, c’est l’art qui refuse de s’agencer avec les couleurs du sofa. Et c’est parfait de même.

Bonne Manif d’art 7 !

Matthieu Dugal