Collective exhibition

L’Œil de Poisson presents a collective exhibition as part of Manif d'art 10.

Dario Robleto

The Minor Chords Are Ours

Frances Trombly

Loose Canvas with Pink Embroidery, 2016 Handwoven cotton and hand-embroidered, hand-dyed silk

Xu Bing

Background story : Peach Blossom Valley, 2020, installation sculpturale.

Kaz Oshiro

Three Steel Beams, 2016, installation.

Jonathan Allen

Tommy Angel #16, 2006.

DARIO ROBLETO

Sculptures.

Dario Robleto amasses artefacts weighted with symbolism and performs an alchemical transformation by fusing them with other meaningful materials, which he manipulates into new objects. He gathers and collects fragments of matter, moved by melancholy and partial to the poetic potential of every item as a vector of past emotions and unheard stories ready to be expressed in the present.

FRANCES TROMBLY

Oeuvres textiles.

Frances Trombly uses weaving and embroidery to create imitations of ordinary, mass-produced, and frequently neglected objects. At first glance, these meticulously crafted artefacts could pass for readymades simply left behind in the gallery, but a closer look reveals exquisitely detailed simulacra, the product great labour. Through the fiction of mimetism, the artist addresses our relationships with inconsequential objects scattered through our everyday lives.

JONATHAN ALLEN

Installations et affiche.

A hundred “magicians’ bills” are displayed on shelves in a wall showcase in the small Œil de Poisson gallery. These records, now esoteric but once abundant in the pockets of prestidigitators of old, played a double role as magic trick accessories and tools of self-promotion. In the 19th and 20th centuries, the golden age of theatrical illusionism, magicians seeking fame and fortune produced these types of notes adorned with their own images. On one excellent example from 1885, magician Signor Alfred Bosco emblazoned his bills with the grandiose inscription, “Bank of the Great Wizard of the World.”

KAZ OSHIRO

Three Steel Beams, 2016, installation.

Three Steel Beams is a meticulous reproduction of stacked beams showing the minutest details, up to and including faint signs of wear and tear. Here, the faux readymade refers to an emblematic object of industrial modernity, a knowing nod to the theoretical foundations of Oshiro’s process. At the meeting-place of pictorial modernism and conceptual art, the artist interrogates the very essence of a work of art, while also cultivating an interest in the history of representation and its reproducibility.

XU BING

Background story : Peach Blossom Valley, 2020, installation sculpturale.

In his Background Story series, Xu Bing’s installations appear to present traditional Chinese paintings of landscapes with calligraphy. At first glance, the pieces appear to be monumental historical works mounted on lightboxes. As we look more closely, however, and move around the back of the installation, we see that things are not what they seem.

Exposition collective

L’Œil de Poisson présente une exposition collective dans le cadre de Manif d’art 10.

Dario Robleto

The Minor Chords Are Ours

Frances Trombly

Loose Canvas with Pink Embroidery, 2016 Handwoven cotton and hand-embroidered, hand-dyed silk

Xu Bing

Background story : Peach Blossom Valley, 2020, installation sculpturale.

Kaz Oshiro

Three Steel Beams, 2016, installation.

Jonathan Allen

Tommy Angel #16, 2006.

DARIO ROBLETO

Sculptures.

Dario Robleto amasse des artefacts d’une forte teneur symbolique et les soumet à des transformations alchimiques en les fusionnant à d’autres matériaux chargés de sens, qu’il manipule pour les refaçonner en nouveaux objets.

FRANCES TROMBLY

Oeuvres textiles.

C’est par le tissage et la broderie que Frances Trombly réalise des imitations d’objets ordinaires issus de la production de masse et qu’on a tendance à négliger. À première vue, ses objets méticuleusement confectionnés pourraient passer pour des ready-made simplement déposés en galerie. Un examen plus attentif révèle qu’il s’agit en fait de simulacres infiniment détaillés résultant d’un labeur de longue haleine. Par ce jeu de mimétisme fallacieux, l’artiste aborde les relations que nous entretenons avec les objets anodins qui habitent le quotidien.

JONATHAN ALLEN

Installations et affiche.

Une centaine de « billets de banque magiques » sont disposés sur les étagères d’une vitrine murale dans la petite galerie de l’Œil de Poisson. Ces archives ésotériques, qui prospéraient chez les prestidigitateurs d’autrefois, occupaient une double fonction : accessoires pour les tours de magie, elles contribuaient également à la dissémination de leur autopromotion. En plein âge d’or de l’illusionnisme théâtral, aux 19e et 20e siècles, les magiciens en quête de reconnaissance produisaient des espèces de ce type, à leur image. Simulacres de véritables billets, ces documents éphémères en reprennent les codes visuels et ornementaux. Avec leurs éléments dessinés à la main, leurs effigies à l’image des performeurs et leurs inscriptions décalées, ils parodient le langage des institutions bancaires. On peut y lire des canulars en référence à l’univers de la finance tels que les « United Snakes of America », ou encore la « Bank of Neverpay ».

KAZ OSHIRO

Three Steel Beams, 2016, installation.

Three Steel Beams reproduit un amas de poutres d’acier au détail près, allant même jusqu’à leurs traces d’usure subtiles. Le faux ready-made renvoie ici à un objet emblématique de la modernité industrielle, sorte de clin d’œil aux fondements théoriques de la démarche d’Oshiro. À la croisée du modernisme pictural et de l’art conceptuel, il interroge l’essence même de l’œuvre d’art en plus de cultiver un intérêt pour l’histoire de la représentation et de sa reproductibilité.

XU BING

Background story : Peach Blossom Valley, 2020, installation sculpturale.

Les installations de Xu Bing semblent présenter de la peinture chinoise traditionnelle figurant des paysages accompagnés de calligraphies narratives. À la première impression, on pourrait penser qu’il s’agit d’une pièce historique monumentale montée sur un dispositif d’exposition avec rétroéclairage. En examinant le tout de plus près et en découvrant l’envers du décor, on constate que les choses ne sont pas ce qu’elles semblent être.